Updated and fully revised to take account of Irish land law after a vast array of amending legislation. The third edition of this leading title on land law in Ireland is an essential text for both students and practitioners of land law.
Principles of Irish Property Law is now established as one of the leading text books on property law in Ireland. The second edition is fully updated and builds on the success of the first edition.
This book is part of the series of revision texts aimed at certificate students enrolled in the Institutes of Technology, VECs, RTCs, private third level colleges, universities, and the entrance exam for the Law Society of Ireland's Law School.
Written with both legal students and practitioners in mind, this highly specialist book is widely recognised as the definitive guide to Irish land law. Comprehensive and clear, this title not only covers the subject of Irish land law with depth and detail, it also offers invaluable information on equity, trusts and succession. It is regularly cited as authoritative by Irish judges at the highest level.
This manual is designed to give trainee solicitors a clear and complete understanding of practice in this field. It deals with residential letting agreements, as well as examining the rights and obligations of landlords and tenants bound by commercial leases, thus offering an excellent overview of all crucial landlord and tenant topics. This new edition has been fully revised and updated in the light of new codes and case law.
This book details the origins of rates in Ireland and explaining with the use of the relevant legislative provisions, how they are made, who is responsible for paying them, the procedure for appealing rates and the procedure for recovering rates.
Since its publication this book has become the standard for both students studying for their examinations and practitioners needing a comprehensive reference book covering rating law, valuation and, importantly, practice.
Compulsory Purchase and Compensation in Ireland comprises a comprehensive inventory of compulsory purchase powers by various State and semi-State bodies in Ireland, together with a detailed and practical analysis of the law of compensation in respect of compulsory purchase.
* Only book on the market dedicated to this form of dispute resolution * Compares differing forms of international methods with this method which is widely practiced in Ireland * Practical guidance for those wishing to learn more, or for those embarking on construction projects in Ireland.
This is a new dictionary which provides a clear and concise explanation of terms used in land, property and construction law and management. The four key areas of coverage are: planning/construction law, land law, equity/trusts and finance and administration.
Written by Ireland's leading Land and Conveyancing Law expert, this title will set out the new legislation in a clear and functional manner, with precise and comprehensive annotations to each section appended underneath.
Succession Law in Ireland: Principles, Cases and Commentaries is not a case book in the traditional sense. The use of cases in this work is done with the purpose of discerning the key principles, criteria and prerequisites applied by the courts in arriving at their decisions, knowledge of which is essential to practitioners and students in the field of succession law.
The distinguished contributors to this collection consider cases ranging from 1720 to 2017, covering issues such as will-making and interpretation, the position of beneficiaries and personal representatives, testamentary promises, and the extent of testamentary freedom in England and Wales and beyond. The cases are relevant not only to scholars and students of succession law per se, but also those working in fields such as tax, trusts, tort and land law.
A complete list of journals can be found on the Publication Finder.
Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Land & Property Law include the following:
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBooks are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Ebook Central and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
Many databases allow you to discover relevant journal articles by searching with keywords.
This highly innovative book makes an important contribution to how we conceptualize the protection of property and to the understanding that much of this protection now takes place at the international level.
In this book current developments in European property law (particularly the Draft Common Frame of Reference) are analysed and evaluated, focussing on secured transactions and mortgage law.
Against the background of the creation of an EU-wide frame of reference for private law relevant to the Common Market, this study, which was requested by the EU Commission, analyses the dovetailing between contract and tort law on the one hand, and between contract and property law on the other.
A comprehensive comparative treatment of six instances of time-limited interests in land as encountered in fourteen European jurisdictions. The survey explores the commercial or social origins of each legal institution concerned and highlights their enforceability against third parties, their content and their role in land development.
An innovative examination of the law's treatment of property, this student textbook provides an extremely useful and readable account of general property law principles. It draws on a wide range of materials on property rights in general, and the English property law system in particular, looking at all kinds of property, not just land.
Party autonomy is a subject that is traditionally rejected in the field of property law. Legal systems throughout Europe and most parts of the world still found their property law on the lex situs. This point of view, however, is challenged more and more.
This is the first comprehensive comparative treatment of condominium (apartment ownership, commonhold, horizontal property) law in 21 European jurisdictions. This book explores the genesis of condominium law in Europe and in each of the jurisdictions represented.
Landmark Cases in Property Law explores the development of basic principles of property law in leading cases. Each chapter considers a case on land, personal property or intangibles, discussing what that case contributes to the dominant themes of property jurisprudence.
The Legal, Administrative and Managing Framework for Spatial Policy, Planning and Land-Use by
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest