Updated edition of this bestselling comprehensive textbook on Irish labour law, which reflects all the major legislative and case law changes in this area since 2008.
This practical guide to Irish employment law brings together the knowledge and expertise of Ireland's leading employment, tax and pensions law practitioners. This second edition has been newly updated and revised to include the extensive changes to the law, including in relation to the workings of the Workplace Relations Commission, and new chapters on whistle blowing, health and safety, mediation, agency workers, restraint of trade and injunctions.
This book is the first comprehensive and dedicated student text on employment law aimed at the Irish market.
This new edition provides a distinctively broad-based approach to EU Employment Law, covering related social policy and anti-discrimination measures, as well as a detailed overview of how policy and law are made.
Employment Law in Ireland provides a comprehensive account of this increasingly complex area of law.
Employment Law is designed to give the trainee solicitor a thorough understanding of the principles of Irish employment law. It introduces the common law principles, Irish case law and the European and Irish legislation which impact on Irish employment law.
This annual Irish publication contains selected cases and materials relevant to Employment Law, specifically the case law and decisions that took place in Ireland throughout 2017. Practitioners need to be up to date and this annual publication provides that service.
Well-established as the most regularly updated casebook on the market, the 9th edition continues to provide a wealth of carefully selected case law and stimulating extracts and materials to help explain employment law in a contextualised and thought-provoking manner.
An entirely restructured and freshly written new textbook on employment law. Comprehensive and engaging, it combines detailed analysis and commentary on the law with short contextual extracts to fully equip the labour law student.
There is a huge amount of rules, regulations, laws, directives, case law concerning employment law in Ireland. Even with the best will in the world, it is easy to do the wrong thing. To make a mistake. "Employment Law in Ireland-A Plain English Guide for Employers and Employees" can help because it can save you time and money.
A complete list of journals can be found on the Publication Finder.
Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Employment Law include the following:
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBooks are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Ebook Central and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
Many databases allow you to discover relevant journal articles by searching with keywords.
This book reviews the evolution of labour law within the EU, analyses the distinct regional approaches to employment and welfare, and looks at the pressures for change within a further enlarged EU.
Using a comparative and socio-legal approach that emphasises the practical role of human rights, anti-discrimination law and employment protection, this book argues for an enforceable right to reasonable accommodation on the grounds of religion and belief in the workplace in Europe.
A detailed analysis of part-time work regulation is presented for seven European countries, in order to ascertain how internal domestic choices of the legislatures have merged into the 'Open method of co-ordination'.
European Labour Law explores how individual European national legal systems, in symbiosis with the European Union, produce a transnational labour law system that is distinct and genuinely European in character. Professor Brian Bercusson describes the evolution of this system, its national, transnational and global contexts and its institutional and substantive structures.
This new edition provides a distinctively broad-based approach to EU Employment Law, covering related social policy and anti-discrimination measures, as well as a detailed overview of how policy and law are made.
This report is designed to be accessible and is targeted at employers, HR managers, legal advisors, students of employment law, and those that need to have a practical understanding about the origins, nature and detail of employment law that originates from the EU.
This important new publication aims to develop a restatement of the concept of the employee in European labour law. The study identifies both problems and solutions that have emerged, clearly setting out comparisons between the different member states' approaches.
In order to ensure legal stability within work relations, national regulations concerning international private labour law had to be replaced by unified conflicts of law norms. These norms are to be applied by both employees and employers of EU member states as well as applied in work relations situations where third parties are involved. EU private international law is a collection of international private labour law regulations issued by EU institutions.
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest
