This is an essential reference and resource for organizations, companies, solicitors, barristers, Data Protection Officers, compliance officers, IT and security personnel, marketing departments, and those interested in this increasingly important and rapidly changing area of law.
Information and Communications Technology Law in Ireland will be an essential companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students who wish to develop their understanding of this diverse area of study. This book is designed to be accessible, as well as practical.
Key issues and practices covered include copyright law, data privacy, revenge porn, defamation, government censorship, social media platform rules, and employer policies. Research techniques are also used to suggest future trends in social media law and ethics.
This book examines one of the greatest social and legal concerns of the modern age: social networking and the internet. This timely and appropriate book outlines the new law and issues relating to social networking. It offers a strong international comparative element and examines various legal jurisdictions.
Entertainment and Media Law in Ireland explains the typical issues which arise in the media and entertainment industry in Ireland to better equip the reader with a valuable working knowledge of the fundamentals.
This fully updated new edition of Information Technology Law in Ireland will prove invaluable to practitioners and students who specialise in IT law. It covers the law relating to e-commerce, including the Electronic Commerce Act 2000, data protection and privacy laws, and includes all the relevent the Data Protection Acts.
The information society has created an environment where new technologies increasingly threaten the right to privacy. Privacy and Data Protection Law in Ireland provides a detailed analysis of the law that applies in this complex and uncertain environment.
This book provides an overview of current EU data protection law, including the GDPR legislation that came into force in May 2018. The book aims to assist the reader with GDPR compliance and provide answers to GDPR-related questions.
Intellectual Property Law in Ireland, 4th edition is a detailed guide to patents, copyright and trade mark law. It covers all relevant European legislation and traces its weaving into Irish law. It details European case law together with relevant case law from commonwealth countries, as well as detailing any Irish cases on the three areas and also covers design law.
QUICK WIN MEDIA LAW IRELAND is aimed at those who work in the media industry seeking quick and practical answers to legal questions they encounter day-to-day. Written for non-lawyers, it will be useful to public relations, advertising, publishing and digital media professionals faced with legal queries arising in their work.
Analyzes and critically evaluates the state of EU copyright law with a view to detecting the key trends and patterns in the evolution of EU copyright. It covers a broad range of topics through clusters focused on: the history and approaches to EU copyright harmonization; harmonization in the areas of exclusive rights, exceptions and limitations, and enforcement; copyright policy and legacy of harmonization.
A complete list of journals can be found on the Publication Finder.
Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for IT & Data Protection Law include the following:
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBooks are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Ebook Central and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
Many databases allow you to discover relevant journal articles by searching with keywords.
Understand your GDPR obligations and prioritise the steps you need to take to comply.
Against the background of European legal framework, this book offers a comprehensive analysis of the concept of consent in data protection, with a special focus on the field of electronic communications.
This timely book investigates the normative significance of data protection as a fundamental right in the EU. It will be of interest to academics, students, policy-makers and practitioners in EU law, privacy, data protection, counter-terrorism and human rights law.
These reports describe the data protection laws of the European Union (Part I) and of selected foreign countries (Part II). They describe the legal framework for the collection, use, and transfer of data, and examine whether existing laws are adequate to deal with online privacy in an era of rapid technological development and globalisation.
GDPR and Cyber Security for Business Information Systems is designed to present specific and practical information on the key areas of compliance to the GDPR relevant to Business Information Systems in a global context.
This comprehensive guide discusses the IT-related legal issues faced by businesses on a daily basis. It explains in plain English the relevant legal frameworks and gives examples from actual cases. New material in this edition include chapters on GDPR, cyber security, cloud computing contracts and Agile.
Computers and the Law provides readers with an introduction to the legal issues associated with computing - particularly in the massively networked context of the Internet.
Examines the history, policies, and future of transborder data flow regulation. Kuner traces the history of regulation in different regions, beginning with the earliest European laws in the 1970s, through to leading regional and international instruments of the EU, OECD, Council of Europe, APEC, and other bodies.
This book, Knowledge of the Law in the Big Data Age contains a selection of the papers presented at the conference 'Law via the Internet 2018', held in Florence, Italy, on 11-12 October 2018.
Cybersecurity Law, Standards and Regulations lets you integrate legal issues into your security program. Tari Schreider, a board-certified information security practitioner with a criminal justice administration background, has written a much-needed book that bridges the gap between cybersecurity programs and cybersecurity law.
Data Access, Consumer Interests and Public Welfare by
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest