A new textbook that introduces students to the law governing the practice of social work and social care in Ireland.
An updated edition of this well-established text reflecting recent significant changes and developments in family law in Ireland.
In Ireland, the Children and Family Relationships Act 2015 gives legal recognition to the diverse relationships that exist in the country. It is the most comprehensive amendment to Irish law on children and family relationships in many decades. This book examines, analyzes, and explains the new legal regime by addressing a wide range of new issues.
This book aims to provide an up-to-date and comprehensive introduction to the subject of domestic violence and its interaction with the criminal justice system- including agencies such as the police, the Crown Prosecution Service, the probation service and Children's Services, the courts and the prison service, as well as voluntary agencies such as Women's Aid.
Family Law provides a comprehensive guide to family law legislation and practice in Ireland. This fourth edition has been fully updated to include recent significant legislative changes introduced by the Civil Partnership and Certain Rights and Obligations of Cohabitees Act 2010. It contains revised coverage of separation agreements, judicial separation, divorce and ancillary orders, as well as of the law relating to children.
Family Law in Practice: A Study of Cases in the Circuit Court is the first book to examine the workings of the Irish family law courts.
Your comprehensive guide to family law. This practical and popular book covers this complex area of Irish law in it's entirety, including property issues, adoption, guardianship and custody, and protection against spousal misconduct, as well as the major topics of divorce, separation and nullity.
The Irish Family Legislation handbook is a collection of the Acts and Statutory Instruments that family lawyers in Ireland need to have for their day-to-day work. The editors have used their experience in family law to gather the statutory materials in one volume, providing a source of reference for anyone practising family law in Ireland.
Especially written for the non-lawyer, this is a guide to the legal framework and substantive law relating to social work. It explores the dynamic relationship between the law and social work practice, and emphasises the crucial role of anti-discriminatory practice and the growing influence of the Human Rights Act 1998.
This book presents a detailed yet concise examination of all the main aspects of Irish family law. The clear and thorough manner in which the information is presented will make this an invaluable revision tool for all students of the discipline.
This is handbook on what to expect when your relationship with your partner breaks down. It will act as a signpost to the reader through this devastating time. It contains accessible legal information on separation, divorce, civil partnership, cohabitation, mediation and collaborative practice and the general view of the Courts on these matters.
This book considers whether coercive control (particularly non-physical forms of family violence) should be prohibited by the criminal law. Based on the premise that traditional understandings of family violence are severely limited, it considers whether the core of family violence is power-based controlling or coercive behavior: attempts by men to psychologically dominate their partners.
A complete list of journals can be found on the Publication Finder.
Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Family Law include the following:
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBooks are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Ebook Central and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
Many databases allow you to discover relevant journal articles by searching with keywords.
This book examines three different aspects of family life - childhood, parenthood and partnerships - and critically analyses existing EU law in relation to each. It examines the emerging field of EU family law, providing a highly sceptical account of recent developments and a robust challenge to the arguments in favour of the codification of European civil law, including family law.
This book takes an international perspective on child welfare, examining how global and national frameworks can be adapted to address the rights and best interests of children. Synthesising the latest international research, experts redefine the concept of a 'child in need' in a world where global movement is common and children are frequently involved in the law.
International law has become part of everyday family law practice, as lawyers everywhere are confronted with questions regarding the rights of 'mail-order' brides, the adoption of children from other countries, the abduction of children by foreign parents, and domestic violence victims seeking asylum. This book provides a practical overview of such issues and also examines the ways in which culture shapes family law in different countries.
The Irish health system is confronted by a range of challenges, both emerging and recurring. This collection provides a foundation for ongoing engagement with selected issues in contemporary Irish health contexts. It includes contributions from scholars and practitioners across a range of disciplines.
This book examines in detail the status of children in the EU. Drawing on a range of disciplinary perspectives, including the sociology of childhood and human rights discourse, it offers a critical analysis of the legal and policy framework underpinning EU children's rights across a range of areas, including family law, education, immigration and child protection.
In this volume, a variety of experts examine child and family law in thirteen countries - Australia, Canada, China, India, Israel, Malaysia, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and the United States. Each chapter identifies the imperatives and influences that have prevailed to date and offers informed predictions of how it will develop in the years to come.
The aim of this book is to explore what response the law has or should have to different family practices arising from cultural and religious beliefs. The issue has become increasingly debated as western countries have become more culturally diverse.
The past few years have seen unparalleled turbulence in the way family justice systems function. The contributors to this volume share their anxieties about the impact on the ability of individuals to achieve fair and informed resolution in family matters.
This book examines the potential impact of human rights in the way the law interacts with families.
Human Rights in Child Protection : Implications for Professional Practice and Policy by
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest