A comprehensive, practical resource for instructors that highlights and synthesizes proven teaching methods and active learning strategies. Each of the 101 entries describes an approach and lists its essential features and elements, demonstrates how the approach may be used in various educational contexts, reviews findings from the research literature, and describes techniques to improve effectiveness. Fully revised and updated to reflect the latest research and innovations in the field, this second edition also features critical new content on adapting techniques for use in online courses.
The Lecturer's Toolkit addresses the needs and aspirations of all lecturers teaching in tertiary education. With a focus on practical, implementable strategies to enhance learning experiences and ensure best practice, it covers all of the need-to-know information crucial to teaching success. Based on four decades of experience of higher education, this book is written with authority and clarity in a jargon-free style. It is a must-read for every higher education professional.
Use your course's big ideas to accelerate students' growth as writers and critical thinkers The newly revised third edition of Engaging Ideas delivers a step-by-step guide for designing writing assignments and critical thinking activities that engage students with important subject-matter questions. This new edition of the celebrated book (now written by the co-author team of Bean and Melzer) uses leading and current research and theory to help you link active learning pedagogy to your courses' subject matter.
Through a critical discussion of the issues surrounding the design, sharing and reuse of learning activities, Rethinking Pedagogy for a Digital Age examines a wide range of perspectives on effectively designing and delivering learning activities to ensure that future development is pedagogically sound, learner-focused, and accessible.
This handbook acts as an essential guide to understanding and using reflective and experiential learning - whether it be for personal or professional development, or as a tool for learning. It takes a fresh look at experiential and reflective learning, locating them within an overall theoretical framework for learning and exploring the relationships between different approaches. As well as the theory, the book provides practical ideas for applying the models of learning, with tools, activities and photocopiable resources which can be incorporated directly into classroom practice.
The goal of the book is simple: To improve student achievement by helping teachers implement active learning strategies in the classroom. Active learning has proven to be one of the most important tools for engaging students, promoting skills in motivation, higher-order thinking, communication, creative thinking, and problem-solving. Most teachers agree that these skills are essential for increasing student achievement; however, these skills are difficult to foster in the traditional 'sage on a stage' model. Educators must learn to adopt a new 'guide on the side' teaching paradigm whereby traditional instruction is supplemented by active learning strategies.
Although emerging technologies are becoming popularised for teaching, learning and research, the relationship between their use and transformative effects on higher education remain largely unexplored. This edited collection seeks to fill this gap by providing a nuanced view, locating higher education pedagogical practices at an intersection of emerging technologies, authentic learning and activity systems.
Teaching for Quality Learning at University will be of particular interest to teachers, staff developers and administrators. It assists university teachers who wish to improve the quality of their own teaching, their students' learning and their assessment of learning outcomes. It aids staff developers in providing support for departments in line with institutional policies. It provides a framework for administrators interested in quality assurance and enhancement of teaching across the whole university. The authors have also included useful web links to further material.
Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher is the landmark guide to critical reflection, providing expert insight and practical tools to facilitate a journey of constructive self-critique. Stephen Brookfield shows how you can uncover and assess your assumptions about practice by viewing them through the lens of your students' eyes, your colleagues' perceptions, relevant theory and research, and your own personal experience. This book provides the foundational information and practical tools that help teachers reach their true potential.
This book is designed for teachers in further and higher education, particularly those who do not have specialist backgrounds in education, pedagogy or academic practice. The book particularly encourages teachers to adopt a reflective orientation and to try out different classroom, interactive or discursive activities and tactics that have been successfully used in similar settings. In addition, this book helps teachers from across the disciplines not only to develop effective skills in conventional classroom settings (lecture halls, tutorial rooms, one-to-one student consultations) but to consider new approaches to online, blended, and distance learning.
Too many universities remain wedded to outmoded ways of teaching science in spite of extensive research showing that there are much more effective methods. Too few departments ask whether what happens in their lecture halls is effective at helping students to learn and how they can encourage their faculty to teach better. But real change is possible, and Carl Wieman shows us how it can be brought about. Improving How Universities Teach Science draws on Wieman's unparalleled experience to provide a blueprint for educators seeking sustainable improvements in science teaching.
In this highly practical book, Gilly Salmon maintains her exceptional reputation, delivering another powerful guide for academics, teaching professionals, trainers, designers and developers in all disciplines. This popular text has been comprehensively updated; addressing key technological changes since 2002, offering fresh case studies and 'Carpe Diem' - a unique approach to learning design workshops
This book helps educators everywhere to understand the importance of teacher inquiry and data analysis as pathways to amazing results in the classroom. It provides a step-by-step description of the classroom research process covering methods of formulating action research questions, collecting and analyzing data, and using it to create lasting solutions. It includes a range of real-life examples, practical exercises in every chapter and an accompanying website with extra resources
Drawing from the intellectual origins of experiential learning in the works of John Dewey, Kurt Lewin, and Jean Piaget, this comprehensive and systematic book describes the process of experiential learning. The author proposes a model of the underlying structures of the learning process based on research in psychology, philosophy, and physiology, and bases its typology of individual learning styles and corresponding structures of knowledge in different academic disciplines and careers on this structural model. He also applies experiential learning to higher education and lifelong learning, particularly with regard to adult education.
What makes a great teacher great? The short answer is--it's not what teachers do, it's what they understand. Lesson plans and lecture notes matter less than the special way teachers comprehend the subject and value human learning. The best teachers know their subjects inside and out--but they also know how to engage and challenge students and to provoke impassioned responses. Most of all, they believe two things fervently: that teaching matters and that students can learn. In stories both humorous and touching, Bain describes examples of ingenuity and compassion, of students' discoveries of new ideas and the depth of their own potential.
This comprehensive guide for education students and practitioners provides an overview of the major theories of learning. It considers their implications for policy and practice and sets out practical guidelines for best pedagogical practice. The book can be read as a series of stand-alone chapters or as an integrated overview of theoretical perspectives drawn from the philosophy, psychology, sociology and pedagogy that guide educational principles and practice.
A collection of innovative research that explores the link between effective course design and student engagement and optimizes learning and assessments in technology-enhanced environments and among diverse student populations. Its focus is on providing an understanding of the essential link between practices for effective "activities" and strategies for effective "assessments," as well as providing examples of course designs aligned with assessments, positioning college educators both as leaders and followers in the cycle of lifelong learning.
This book is written for all university and college teachers interested in experimenting with discussion methods in their classrooms. This is a book full of ideas, techniques, and usable suggestions on:
It is an invaluable and helpful resource for university and college teachers who use, or are thinking of using, discussion approaches.
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest