Are there any journals that you and your colleagues already use? Consider journals you or your colleagues have already published in. Also consider journals you and your colleagues have used for your research, or cited in research and what journals you usually keep an eye on for new developments in your area. If you are part of any professional organisations check if they publish any journals that you might be able to publish in.
Consider the audience of your article - who are you aiming to reach? Consider if the journal can reach your intended audience. Perhaps you need to consider an international journal or a journal with a specific focus rather than an multidisciplinary focus or vice versa.
Do you need to comply with any funder mandates? If you have received funding check for any mandates or restrictions. For example are you required to publish open access? Check journal websites to make sure the journal offers what you need in order to be compliant.
Does the aim and scope of the journal match your research? Will your research fit in with other research published in the journal? Does the journal cover the right subject area?
Does the journal meet your needs? Consider what you want from a journal and if the journal meets your needs / requirements. This could be around copyright or editing or marketing etc.
What does the journal require from you as an author and can you meet this requirement? Does the journal have a manuscript template you need to follow? Does the journal have reporting guidelines you must follow when reporting your research? Will your article be embargoed for a period of time after publishing and will this effect your ability to comply with funder mandates?
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals - Indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
OASPA - Open Access Scholarly Publications Association - OASPA have complied a list of publications that meet their high standards.
Journal Guide - A tool that can help choose the best journal for your research.
Elsevier's JournalFinder - Elsevier® JournalFinder uses a machine learning algorithm to create a list of recommended journals for you to publish your research in.
Journal ITOCs - The largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 29,486 journals including 13,465 selected Open Access journals and 11,678 Hybrid journals, from 3359 publishers.
Wiley Journal Finder Beta - Can suggest Wiley journals that may be relevant for your research.
IEEE Publication Recommender Can suggest an IEEE journal for your research and provides key data for each publication recommended.
Taylor & Francis Journal Suggester - After uploading your abstract T&F Journal Suggester can suggest a journal from Taylor & Francis.
JANE - Jane will compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors or articles. JANE tags journals that are currently indexed in MEDLINE, and open access journals approved by the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
IReL - List of Open Access journals via the IReL transformative agreements. This includes journals from publishers such as: Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Wiley, and SAGE.
Elsevier Open Access Journals - Access open access journals available from Elsevier.
PLOS - Focuses on the Sciences.
Frontiers Open Access Journals - Focuses on the Sciences.
BioMed Central (BMC) - Focuses on biology, health sciences and medicine.
SpringerOpen - Access journals available from Springer.
Hindawi - Open Access publishing for the scientific community.
Routledge Open Publishing - An open research platform for scholars to publish their research.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals.
JSTOR Open Access Journals - Covers topical areas in sustainability and security studies, and offer broad coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MDPI Open Access Journals - Multidisciplinary.
How to Choose a Journal to Publish in?
The video covers things to consider when choosing a journal, journal selection tools, dos and don'ts of journal selection & publishing, and avoiding predatory journals.
Access slides below:
Choosing a Journal to Publish Your Research.
Credit: Eric Robinson Scholarly Communications Librarian with University of St. Augustine Library.
Sherpa Romeo - Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.
Sherpa Juliet - A searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving.
Sherpa Fact - Provides clear guidance to researchers on whether a journal complies with a funder's open access policies.
OpenDOAR - OpenDOAR is a global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
Sherpa Services - Consolidates Sherpa Services (Romeo, Juliet, Fact, and OpenDOAR) in to one handy tool, and brings you Open Access compliance and Transitional Agreement look-up tools.
Creative Commons License Chooser - A tool from Creative Commons to help you choose a Creative Commons License that suits you.
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest