Happy New Year everyone and welcome to Semester 2!
As the new calendar year begins, we wish you the very best of luck with it all. We're including a reminder of our key services in this newsletter just in case you haven't had a chance to engage with the library yet.
In the last couple of months, we've welcomed new staff - Dan (Tipperary campus), Nicola, Sadhbh & Sinéad (Limerick campus).
We've also added lots of new resources to the print and online collections in all our sites, including a number of recently published books and journals, an interesting donation, and a specialised suite of research databases.
Read on to find out more...
Library Card: GOOD NEWS! Your student or staff card is your library card so you are already a member of TUS Library! There is no need to sign up - just remember to have your card with you when you visit.
Opening Hours: The Library opens at 9 am and our late night opening hours will resume during the month! Click here to see the opening hours for all libraries.
Borrowing and Renewing: Undergraduate students can borrow 7 items at a time from the Main Collection. Postgrads can borrow 9, and for staff it's 12. We also have Short Loan (3 day) and Reserve Loan (2 hour) rules on more popular items. If you wish to borrow or renew an item, you can either come to the Circulation Desk and our staff will be happy to help you, or you can use the RFID Self Service machines. You must have your student or staff card with you to use the machines. For more information on borrowing click here.
Returning Items: There are 3 ways to return a library book. You can (1) drop it in the returns bin outside the library entrance, (2) return it using the Self Service machines, or (3) hand it to a member of staff at the main desk.
Study Rooms: There are 7 group study rooms in Moylish Library and 3 group study rooms in Thurles Library. They must be reserved in advance and bookings can only be made by registered TUS students using a valid student email. They can be booked for 2 hours at a time. Click here to book a study room. This video by Brian demonstrates the online booking process.
Library Catalogue: This is where you can search our print collection. There are computers in the Library that you can use to search the catalogue and find the location of a book. You can also search the catalogue when you are off-campus via the library website.
Discover Search: Use this search function to begin searching our online collections. We will have weekly tutorials this semester to help you find the resources you need using Discover Search.
Referencing Help: Write it Right is the name of our guide to all you need to know about Harvard Referencing. We run regular tutorials on referencing too, and you are always welcome to ask us any questions you may have about referencing and we'll be happy to help.
Library & Research Skills Tutorials: We offer weekly tutorials to help you use the library resources effectively. You can sign up for classes on topics such as Harvard Referencing, Getting Started with your Final Year Project (FYP), Using Online Databases & eBooks, and more! Keep an eye on the library website, email and social media for the schedules.
In the first week of December, Moylish Campus Library received their annual donation of books from Haven Horizons, a national voluntary organisation, based in Co. Clare, dedicated to the elimination of domestic, sexual and gender-based abuse (DSGBA).
Moylish Library has received book donations from Haven Horizons since 2018. Follow the links here for further information on the current book collection.
This year's donation was made in conjunction with the ‘16 Days’ of Action Global Campaign to raise awareness and take action to end domestic, sexual and gender-based abuse #16DaysOfActivism
We were delighted to welcome Madeline McAleer (Haven Horizons and Dept of Applied Social Sciences, TUS Midwest), Catriona Holohan (Domestic Violence Liaison Sergeant, Ennis Station) and Rabiya Ali (Sexual Violence Prevention & Response Manager, TUS) as guest speakers on the day.
Photo: Catriona Holohan (Domestic Violence Liaison Sergeant, Ennis Station), Sarah Landy (Deputy Librarian, TUS Midwest Library) Madeline McAleer (Haven Horizons & Dept of Applied Social Sciences, TUS Midwest), Rabiya Ali (Sexual Violence Prevention & Response Manager, TUS) and Marian Duggan (VP People, Culture & EDI, TUS Midwest).
TUS Library is delighted to announce, as part of our membership of IRel (Consortium of Irish Research Libraries) the following databases are now available to all staff and students. This provides the TUS community with access to millions of additional journal articles and resources. You can access the databases via the Library Website.
Additionally, as part of IReL Read & Publish deals, those interested in open access publishing will be happy to know that APCs (Article Processing Charges) are available from the following publishers - Oxford University Press, SAGE, Wiley Online Library and Cambridge University Press. For more information, see the Open Access Publishing Library Guide and check out our workshop ‘How to Publish with IReL APCs’
If you're still deciding on your New Year resolutions, the Library can help! You might want to get fit, eat better, drink less, or learn how to manage your money. Maybe you're interested in exploring mindfulness to combat anxiety and how to navigate a better work-life balance. Whatever goals you have for the New Year, we have lots of books on health and wellbeing that will help you to achieve them. See some examples below.
Dan English was appointed Assistant Librarian in Thurles and Clonmel (Tipperary campus) Libraries in October. Nicola Carmody and Sadhbh Healy also joined us in the Autumn, working on a part-time basis between the LSAD and Moylish sites. Sinéad Ryan has just started in the library, and will also be based on the Limerick campus. We extend a warm welcome to one and all.
A short guide to using the Library includes links to Moylish Library essentials such as print and online resources, opening hours, referencing guides, video tours & more...
Welcome to LSAD Library focuses on specific resources for art & design students, including books, eBooks, exhibition catalogues, journals, databases and useful websites.
The Laptop on Loan Scheme is open for applications. Click here for further information.
Magpie - Elizabeth Day
Set in London in the present day, this psychological thriller cleverly explores the relationship between its three main characters, Marisa, Jake and Kate from two separate viewpoints. Its pacy style makes for a real page-turner, and just when you think you have the plot figured out, a new spanner is thrown into the works!
A good read, covering lots of modern themes, and a really great introduction to thrillers.
Sunday Miscellany : a selection, 2018-2023 - Sarah Binchy (editor)
Arranged according to calendar months and spanning the seasons of the year, this volume includes a selection of non-fiction, memoir and poetry pieces as broadcast on RTE Radio 1’s Sunday Miscellany programme over the years. Contributors include Joseph O’Connor, Donal Ryan, Colm Toibin, Rosaleen Mc Donagh, Lisa Mc Inerney and many more.
Winner of The Irish Book Awards, ‘Best Irish Published Book of the Year’, this is a lovely collection to dip in and out of.
Reviews by Nora Hegarty
Edited by: Nora Hegarty. Photo credit - Noel McNamara. Image credits - freepik.com and pixy.org
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest
