Happy Autumn everyone!
As the academic year begins, we wish you the very best of luck with it all. We're including a reminder of our key services in this newsletter which extends a warm welcome to First Years and a big welcome back to all returning students too.
It's been a busy Summer in Moylish Library with lots of building work going on. We hope to re-open soon. Your patience is appreciated as we begin the process of re-shelving the materials and getting to grips with all the new spaces. Meanwhile, LSAD, Thurles & Clonmel Libraries are open as normal.
In the last few months, we've added lots of new resources to the print and online collections in all our sites, including a number of recently published books and journals, and a specialised suite of research databases.
Read on to find out more...
Library Card: GOOD NEWS! Your student or staff card is your library card so you are already a member of TUS Library! There is no need to sign up - just remember to have your card with you when you visit.
Opening Hours: The Library opens at 9 am and our late night opening hours will resume during the month! Click here to see the opening hours for all libraries.
Borrowing and Renewing: Undergraduate students can borrow 7 items at a time from the Main Collection. Postgrads can borrow 9, and for staff it's 12. We also have Short Loan (3 day) and Reserve Loan (2 hour) rules on more popular items. If you wish to borrow or renew an item, you can either come to the Circulation Desk and our staff will be happy to help you, or you can use the RFID Self Service machines. You must have your student or staff card with you to use the machines. For more information on borrowing click here.
Returning Items: There are 3 ways to return a library book. You can (1) drop it in the returns bin outside the library entrance, (2) return it using the Self Service machines, or (3) hand it to a member of staff at the main desk.
Study Rooms: There are 7 group study rooms in Moylish Library and 3 group study rooms in Thurles Library. They must be reserved in advance and bookings can only be made by registered TUS students using a valid student email. They can be booked for 2 hours at a time. Click here to book a study room. This video by Brian demonstrates the online booking process.
Library Catalogue: This is where you can search our print collection. There are computers in the Library that you can use to search the catalogue and find the location of a book. You can also search the catalogue when you are off-campus via the library website.
Discover Search: Use this search function to begin searching our online collections. We will have weekly tutorials this semester to help you find the resources you need using Discover Search.
Referencing Help: Write it Right is the name of our guide to all you need to know about Harvard Referencing. We run regular tutorials on referencing too, and you are always welcome to ask us any questions you may have about referencing and we'll be happy to help.
Library & Research Skills Tutorials: We offer weekly tutorials to help you use the library resources effectively. You can sign up for classes on topics such as Harvard Referencing, Getting Started with your Final Year Project (FYP), Using Online Databases & eBooks, and more! Keep an eye on the library website, email and social media for the schedules.
TUS Library is delighted to announce, as part of our membership of IRel (Consortium of Irish Research Libraries) the following databases are now available to all staff and students. This provides the TUS community with access to millions of additional journal articles and resources. You can access the databases via the Library Website.
Additionally, as part of IReL Read & Publish deals, those interested in open access publishing will be happy to know that APCs (Article Processing Charges) are available from the following publishers:
- Oxford University Press - SAGE - Wiley Online Library - Cambridge University Press
A series of workshops which will focus on accessing the databases and open access publishing will be rolled out in the coming weeks. In the meantime, if you have any queries, please contact aisling.slevin@tus.ie or have a look at this Open Access publishing Library Guide. Please check out our pervious workshop ‘How to Publish with IReL APCs’ here.
Because student life can sometimes be demanding, the Library carries a selection of books on a wide range of topics around health and wellbeing. Whether you’re interested in stress management and learning about relaxation techniques, exploring mindfulness to combat anxiety, or how to navigate a better work-life balance, there are books here that can help. See some examples below.
Check out the good luck bookmarks designed by Elaine. Don't forget to remember the nuggets of wisdom contained in these charms as you travel through Semester One!
A short guide to using the Library includes links to Moylish Library essentials - print and online resources, opening hours, referencing guides, video tours & more...
Welcome to LSAD Library focuses on specific resources for art & design students, including books, eBooks, exhibition catalogues, journals, databases and useful websites.
Great news - we will be piloting a new library service (every Tuesday) in Ennis Campus this Semester. Looking forward to bringing TUS Library to the Banner County!
Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema and educational videos on a range of topics for coursework and for leisure too!
TUS Midwest staff & students can access Kanopy here.
Selection of books free to good homes in LSAD Library - come in and have a browse!
The Silent Patient - Alex Michaelides
The Silent Patient is a psychological thriller that explores the complexities of human trauma. The plot is refreshingly original and focuses on two main characters; Alicia Berenson, a convicted killer who has not spoken a word since she was found covered in blood in the same room as her slain husband, and Theo Faber, a troubled forensic psychotherapist who is obsessed with Alicia’s case and is convinced he alone can get Alicia to speak.
The book successfully maintains a mystery until the very end and features a surprising plot twist that I for one did not see coming. Although there are some scary themes in this book, it’s suitable for bedtime reading and an excellent book to lose yourself in on a rainy day.
Review by Aisling Slevin
Fairy Tale - Stephen King
The legendary Stephen King has produced a spellbinding story about the friendship between teenager, Charlie Reade and his recluse neighbour, Howard Bowditch and his German Shephard dog, Rader. As kids Charlie and his best friend Andy feared entering Howard’s house. One day Charlie is cycling past the house when he hears Rader howling for help. When Charlie enters the yard, he finds Mr. Bowditch has been injured. Charlie persuades Mr. Bowditch to let him look after his now old and arthritic dog Rader on the condition that he does not snoop! Charlie notices a strange, locked shed in the yard which Mr. Bowditch forbids him from entering.
Charlie volunteers to care for Mr. Bowditch as a way to payback God for helping his father overcome an alcohol addiction. Over time, the two neighbours form a strong bond. With the passing of Mr. Bowditch, Charlie becomes the sole caretaker of his home and soon discovers an old tape recorder. On a mission to rescue Rader, Charlie must enter the secret shed and travel down an ancient portal. This leads him to a mysterious world and a thrilling adventure.
Review by Elaine Fahy
Homecoming - Kate Morton
Set in London, Sydney and the Adelaide Hills, Kate Morton’s gripping new novel is a carefully crafted detective story. It unwinds a mystery of love, lies and a cold case come back to life stretching across 60 years. The story of a book within a book, it centres on Jess, a journalist in search of a story who discovers one right under her nose. On a visit to her grandmother's house, she finds a true crime book, As if they were asleep, chronicling the police investigation into a long-buried tragedy: the Turner Family Tragedy of Christmas Eve,1959.
The connection with her own family sparks Jess' interest (and the reader's too) and so we journey with her on an epic mystery that crosses continents and spans generations. Lots of secrets are revealed and several shocking discoveries are made before the truth is finally exposed in this absorbing family drama.
Review by Nora Hegarty
Edited by: Nora Hegarty, with thanks to: Sean deBhulbh, Elaine Fahy, Aisling Slevin & Aleksandra Styka for their contributions.
Image credits - freepik.com, kanopy.com, schulzmuseum.org,
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest
