Library Guides: Welcome to Ennis Library: Journals &amp; Databases

What is a database?

A database is a collection of online journal articles. TUS Library: Midwest subscribes to a number of databases across a variety of subject areas. Through the databases, you can access articles, eBooks, proceedings and other research material on your topic. Don’t know where to start? Try SocIndex with FullText a key database for Social Care students.

What are the library databases by NEIU Libraries

What is Discover!

Discover! is a service that simultaneously searches across multiple library databases using a single search. Find books, eBooks, journals, open access content and more. You can use keywords to search the single search box or use the Advanced Search option for a more focused search.

Search Discover!

Key databases for Social Care

SocINDEX with Full Text
ProQuest's Social Science Premium Collection (IReL Resource) This collection offers deep discipline coverage in applied social sciences, sociology, political science, criminal justice, education, and linguistics and language behaviour.
Social Science and Humanities Collection & T&F Medical Collection (IReL Resource) Access is available to approximately 1500 journal titles in Taylor & Francis’ Social Science and Humanities Collection, and over 200 journal titles in the Medical Collection
ScienceDirect
Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. Extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
TUS Library has also access to 250 eBooks in the following collections: Business, Management, Hospitality and Tourism, Computer Science, Energy, Finance, Forensics, Media Technology
Emerald Insight Publications related to management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
SAGE Journals (IReL Resource) The SAGE Premier Collection provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed journals with coverage across a range of disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Britannica Online

Checking if the Library has access to a Journal

Off campus access

Off-campus access to our electronic resources is available 24/7. Log on with your student number and password.

Inter library loans

If the item you are searching for is unavailable at TUS Midwest Library, try our inter library loans service. We may be able to borrow the books or journal articles that you want from another library for you. Request forms are available online or at the library desk.

Get free eJournals

Journal of Social Care
Provides a forum for Irish social care managers, practitioners and students to share their original research, practice reflections, literature and book reviews.
Irish Journal of Applied Social Studies
International, scholarly, peer reviewed journal. Research focus. Includes papers for policy and practice in Ireland.
Social Work and Society
An international open access journal in social work and social policy, examining developments in social work and society around the world.
Social Sciences
An international, open access journal which publishes works from a wide range of fields, including social policy, social work, sociology
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to quality, open access journals.

Google Scholar

A simple and convenient platform for broadly searching for academic or scholarly papers. Especially useful for tracking down specific articles when you know the title. Also good for finding up-to-date unpublished materials, for example, conference papers.