Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Environmental Science include the following:
To find books and other items in the Library, search the Library Catalogue.
If your search retrieves too many results, look at the Refine your search options on the left of the screen to narrow your results.
You can apply multiple limits if you wish to get very specific results - select and apply each one in turn.
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBook are available on different platforms: EBSCO, EBook Central and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
Energy and Sustainable Futures by
Found on doab - Directory of Open Access Books. This open access book presents papers displayed in the 2nd International Conference on Energy and Sustainable Futures (ICESF 2020), co-organised by the University of Hertfordshire and the University Alliance DTA in Energy. The research included in this book covers a wide range of topics in the areas of energy and sustainability including: • ICT and control of energy; • conventional energy sources; • energy governance; • materials in energy research; • renewable energy; and • energy storage. The book offers a holistic view of topics related to energy and sustainability, making it of interest to experts in the field, from industry and academia.
Loss and Damage from Climate Change by
Found on doab - Directory of Open Access Books. This book provides an authoritative insight on the Loss and Damage discourse by highlighting state-of-the-art research and policy linked to this discourse and articulating its multiple concepts, principles and methods. Written by leading researchers and practitioners, it identifies practical and evidence-based policy options to inform the discourse and climate negotiations. Suitable for researchers, policy-advisors, practitioners and the interested public, the book furthermore: • discusses the political, legal, economic and institutional dimensions of the issue • highlights normative questions central to the discourse • provides a focus on climate risks and climate risk management. • presents salient case studies from around the world.
Measuring the Effectivity of Environmental Law by
Found on doab- Directory of Open Access Books. This book presents a new method for measuring the effectivity of national and international environmental law. It took four years of research and experimentation to develop a way to construct evidence-based legal indicators. The existing environmental indicators evaluate only statistical, scientific or economic data. With legal indicators, governments, parliaments and other public and private actors, including environmental NGOs, will be able to assess accurately and concretely, on a scientific basis, what the gaps, progress and setbacks in the implementation of international conventions and national laws are. The legal indicators will also serve as innovative tools for decision-making, in particular to carry out legislative reforms in full knowledge of the facts and not blindly, as well as to avoid regressions in environmental law. The mathematical method used makes it possible, through a questi onnaire addressing all the legal and institutional stages of the application of legal texts, to provide data highlighting both the points to be improved and the strengths of the application of the law. This essay is an update of a first book published in 2018 by the Institut de la Francophonie pour le développement durable. It is the result of a partnership between the International Centre for Comparative Environmental Law and the Normandy Chair for Peace.
Biofuels and Sustainability by
Found on doab- Directory of Open Access Books. This open access book presents a comprehensive analysis of biofuel use strategies from an interdisciplinary perspective using sustainability science. This interdisciplinary perspective (social science-natural science) means that the strategies and policy options proposed will have significant impacts on the economy and society alike. Biofuels are expected to contribute to reducing greenhouse gas emissions, revitalizing economies in agricultural communities and alleviating poverty. However, despite these anticipated benefits, international organizations such as the FAO, OECD and UN have published reports expressing concerns that biofuel promotion may lead to deforestation, water pollution and water shortages. The impacts of biofuel use are extensive, cross-sectoral and complex, and as such, comprehensive analyses are required in order to assess the extent to which biofuels can contribute to sustainable societies. Applying interdisciplinary sustainability science concepts and methodologies, the book helps to enhance the establishment of a sustainable society as well as the development of appropriate responses to a global need for urgent action on current issues related to biofuels.
Air Quality Integrated Assessment: A European Perspective by
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license. This book reports on the results of an extended survey conducted across Europe within the framework of the APPRAISAL FP7 project to determine the extent to which an integrated assessment approach to air quality is being adopted, on the one hand, by regional and local authorities to develop air quality plans and, on the other, by researchers. Following a detailed analysis of the role and structure of the components of an integrated assessment study, the results of the survey are considered from a variety of perspectives. Above all, the book discusses the new light the survey sheds on emission abatement policies and measures planned at regional and local scales, and on their synergies/trade-offs with measures implemented at the national scale. Detailed consideration is given to the currently available modeling methodologies for identifying emission sources, assessing the effectiveness of emission reduction measures, and evaluating the impacts of emission abatement measures on human health. Current strengths and weaknesses revealed by the survey are explored, and the application of an integrated assessment tool in two case studies (in Brussels and Porto) is discussed. The book will appeal to all those interested in the use of integrated assessment in connection with the sources, effects and control of air pollution.
Climate-Smart Forestry in Mountain Regions by
Found on doab - Directory of Open Access Books. This open access book offers a cross-sectoral reference for both managers and scientists interested in climate-smart forestry, focusing on mountain regions. It provides a comprehensive analysis on forest issues, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. This book includes structured summaries of each chapter. Funded by the EU’s Horizon 2020 programme, CLIMO has brought together scientists and experts in continental and regional focus assessments through a cross-sectoral approach, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. CLIMO has provided scientific analysis on issues including criteria and indicators, growth dynamics, management prescriptions, long-term perspectives, monitoring technologies, economic impacts, and governance tools.
Designed for the undergraduate, introductory environmental science course, the tenth edition of Environmental Science continues to present a comprehensive, student-friendly introduction to contemporary environmental issues with an emphasis on sustainable solutions that meet social, economic, and environmental goals. This book explores the underlying causes of environmental problems and root-level solutions and presents both sides of many critical issues. Thought-provoking features throughout, including Critical Thinking Exercises, Key Concept and Spotlight on Sustainability boxes, Go Green tips, and Point/Counterpoint debates, along with the updated statistics and data of key issues, encourage readers to become much deeper and more critical thinkers.
In this book, David Goodstein, professor of physics at Caltech, explains the underlying scientific principles of the inevitable fossil fuel shortage we face. He outlines the drastic effects a fossil fuel shortage will bring down on us. And he shows that there is an important silver lining to the need to switch to other sources of energy, for when we have burned up all the available oil, the earth's climate will have moved toward a truly life-threatening state. With its easy-to-grasp explanations of the science behind every aspect of our most urgent environmental policy decisions, Out of Gas is "a handbook for the future of civilization" (Booklist).
Environmental Principles and Policies uses environmental and social principles to analyse the latest wave of economic-based and market-orientated environmental policies currently being adopted around the world. This book provides an in-depth examination of six key principles that have been incorporated into international treaties and the national laws of many countries: ecological sustainability, the polluter pays principle, the precautionary principle, equity, human rights, and public participation.
This highly readable yet challenging book provides a critical examination of the failings of mainstream economics and the resultant environmental problems we are facing. Most importantly, it articulates what an alternative economics for sustainability would look like in both theory and practice. The book provides a brief history of economics and looks at the intersection between politics and the often hidden values embedded in economics. Also covered are the roles of individuals and organizations, political structures and institutions, democracy, environmental decision-making, sustainability assessment and a vision of a future underpinned by sustainability economics.
This book explores the nature and role of environmental management, covering key principles, practices, tools, strategies and policies, offers a thorough yet understandable introduction, and points to further in-depth coverage. Among the key themes covered are: sustainable development proactive approaches the precautionary principle the 'polluter pays' principle the need for humans to be less vulnerable and more adaptable. Reflecting the expansion and evolution of the field, this revised edition focuses strongly on sustainable development.
Pittock examines the latest analyses of climate change, such as new and alarming observations regarding Arctic sea ice, the recently published IPCC Fourth Assessment Report, and the policies of the new Australian Government and how they affect the implementation of climate change initiatives. While the message is clear that climate change is here (and in some areas, might already be having disastrous effects), there is still hope for the future, and the ideas presented here will inspire people to take action. Climate Change: The Science, Impacts and Solutions is an important reference for students in environmental or social sciences, policy makers, and people who are genuinely concerned about the future of our environment.
Table of Contents: Introduction, Physical and Aggregate Properties, Metals, Inorganic Nonmetallic Constituents, Aggregate and Organic Constituents, Individual Organic Compounds, Radioactivity, Toxicity, Microbiological Examination, Biological Examination, Index.
Alan Irwin maps out this emerging field of knowledge, teaching and research. He reviews the key sociological debates in the field and sets out a new framework for analysis and practice. Among the themes examined are constructivism and realism, sustainable development and theories of the risk society. Readers are also introduced to communities at risk, institutional regulation and the environmental consequences of technology. Particular topics for discussion include genetically modified organisms, nuclear power, pesticide safety and the local hazards of the chemical industry.
This textbook covers how the built environment and the management of energy relate to the quality of human living-conditions and the environmental performance of buildings. It is the key introductory text for understanding the principles and theories of the environmental science behind construction, and the only text on the market to provide the basic scientific principles of such a broad range of topics.The text covers a range of areas in the field, including climate change, energy management, and sustainability in construction, with an important focus on contemporary environmental topics such as carbon, lifetime performance and rating schemes.
In this broad-ranging book Raphael Kaplinsky, a leading development policy analyst, argues that the future is not necessarily bleak. Interrogating the causes and nature of the systemic crises we are living through, he shows how the challenges which we now face mirror previous historical epochs, in which dominant 'techno-economic' paradigms flourish, mature and run into crisis. In each case, decisive action is required to move to a more economically and socially sustainable world.
Drawing on interviews with leading sustainability scientists, this book examines how researchers in the emerging, interdisciplinary field of sustainability science are attempting to define sustainability, establish research agendas, and link the knowledge they produce to societal action. Pairing these insights with case studies of innovative sustainability research centres, the book reformulates the sustainability science research agenda and its relationship to decision-making and social action. It repositions the field as a "science of design" that aims to enrich public reasoning and deliberation while also working to generate social and technological innovations for a more sustainable future.
Coverage includes: background to sustainable development and global environmental issues; measurement and sustainability indicators; environmental assessment, management and policy; approaches and linkages to poverty reduction; impacts and infrastructure development; economics, consumption, production and market failures; governance; participation; disaster management; international financial institutions; international environmental agreements; and the role of civil society.
The book discusses the advantages of water reuse (reduced water consumption, cost-savings, a secure groundwater replenishment source, and a long-term water supply) and outlines the disadvantages (a build-up of chemical pollutants in the soil, the probable contamination of groundwater attributed to reclaimed water, and possible human health risks related to the presence of viruses and bacteria). It also proposes ethical and cultural considerations, discusses the economic and environmental performance of water systems relevant to water reuse, and outlines associated methods and strategies that can address problems of water scarcity.
This multidisciplinary book presents state-of-the-art reviews of current SI approaches to promote major food crops, challenges and advances made in technology, and the institutional and policy measures necessary to overcome the constraints faced by smallholder farmers. The focus is not only on scientific aspects such as climate-smart agriculture, agroecology and improving input use efficiency and management, but also on institutional and policy challenges that must be met to increase the net societal benefits of sustainable agricultural intensification. The book is aimed at advanced students and researchers in sustainable agriculture and policy, development practitioners, policy makers and non-governmental and farmer organisations.
This book aims to demystify sustainability so that the layperson can understand the key issues, questions and values involved. Accessible and engaging, the book examines the 'old' sustainability of the past and looks to the future, considering how economic, ecological and social sustainability should be defined if we are to solve the entwined environmental, economic and social crises. It considers if meaningful sustainability is the same as a 'sustainable development' based on endless growth, examining the difficult but central issues of overpopulation and overconsumption that drive unsustainability.
The book is meant for students, researchers, engineers, and concerned citizens interested in how materials, nature and people interact: at the level of raw materials and energy resources, of innovation and emergence of new materials functions, of historical continuity with materials of the past, and of emissions to air, water and soil and thus in connection also with health and toxicology issues, climate change and collapse of biodiversity.
Ecological Concepts and Environmental Science examines various aspects of environmental science including an extensive overview of ecology and related concepts. It includes definitions of influential environmentalists, environmental attitudes, multidisciplinary nature of environmental science environmental impacts on water, air and land environmental disasters and hazards.
Management of Ecosystems examines various aspects of ecosystem and its management. It includes definitions of ecosystem, characteristics of ecosystem and other related projects. Further, it comprises comparison of ecosystem and ecosystem-based management ecosystems, biological resources, and ecological integrity.
Environmental Physics examines various aspects of physics in context of environment including an extensive historical overview of environmental science and related concepts.It includes definitions of radiant energy, heat momentum and mass. This book provides the reader with insights into the development of its history, so as to understand the scope of environmental science physics.
The book "Environmental Law" describes regulations, decrees, local, nationwide and international laws and treaties developed to protect the ecosystem from damage, and emphasizes the legal penalties of such damage to the authorities. This book refers to treaties developed to safeguard the environment from destruction.
This book provides a current review of the problem of heavy metal removal. This book reports the manner in which plants interact with heavy metals dependent mainly on the type of contamination, species of plant as well as conditions. The book presents biological strategies for the elimination of heavy metals from polluted habitats--phytoextraction, phytostabilization, phytodegradation, phytostimulation, phytovolatilization and phytofiltration.
This book deals with the technologies used for the improvement of the quality of the environment for the human welfare by using microbes and plants. It also includes constantly new technologies to introduce contemporary problems such as detoxification of hazardous chemicals. This book also targets at providing ideas for the generation or exploration of valuable resources from plants for human society.
The series will focus on recent theoretical and applied science, engineering , management and technological developments with latest exposures in product and process, models, methods and applications including but not limited to artificial intelligence, computational intelligence, mathematical and statistical methods, operations research and optimization, energy, environmental engineering, power, manufacturing, system sciences, management, healthcare, bioinformatics, and other disciplines.
Organic and inorganic chemicals frequently exhibit toxic, mutagenic, carcinogenic, or sensitizing properties when getting in contact with the environment. This comprehensive introduction discusses risk assessment and analysis, environmental fate, transport, and breakdown pathways of chemicals, as well as methods for prevention and procedures for decontamination.
This book consists of 8 chapters. All the chapters focus on modern methods and techniques regarding reuse and treatment of agricultural wastewaters.
This book present innovative ways to conserve both quality and quantity.
The book "Waste Management" discusses effective methods to prevent environmental pollution. It addresses various categories of waste, including urban center (such as institutional, residential and commercial), agronomic and special (such as construction and demolition, domestic hazardous, sewage sludge and non-hazardous industrial) waste. It also describes various management case studies that can be applied outside of the particular site of the case study.
This book is a primer on the essential science for grasping the workings of climate change and climate prediction. It is accessible for readers with little to no background in science, with an emphasis on the needs of those studying sustainable development. John C. Mutter gives a just-the-facts overview of how the climate system functions and what we know about why changes occur.
Climate Science Communications: Effective Approaches to Fighting Climate Denial analyzes some of the communication strategies employed by deniers and the psychological mechanisms behind how they work. Several experts offer specific counter-strategies to change the conversation and foster meaningful societal change on global warming.
This book provides a comprehensive overview of pedology in Ireland. It describes the main soil types of the country, their functions, ecological use, and the conditions to which they were subjected associated with management over time. In addition, it presents a complete set of data, pictures and maps, including benchmark profiles. Factors involved in soil formation are also discussed, making use of new, unpublished data and elaborations.
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest