Library Guides: Engineering: Journals & Databases

Key Databases for Engineering

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from Animal science, Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Ethnic and multicultural studies, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Physics, Psychology, Science and technology, Women’s studies and more.
IHS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IHS Markit provide access to two databases

1. Knowledge Workspace - The new platform for Occupational Health Service Safety Information (OHSIS)
2. The Irish Construction Information Service Plus - Irish CIS Plus
Includes British and Irish standards.

Please use Microsoft Edge or Mozilla Firefox internet browsers to access this resource.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Included are articles, updated and revised by Encyclopaedia Britannica editors and contributors; illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and various other entries including definitions, pronunciation guides, and word histories.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Publications related to management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
IEEE Xplore: Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world’s most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

Please use Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome to access IEEE Xplore Digital Library.
Support for Internet Explorer (IE11) will discontinue on 31 May 2022.
ISURV This link opens in a new window
A key resource for property professionals, brought to you by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. Provides access to: RICS standards, best practice commentary, key cases, sample forms and precedents and much more.
Not available through Discover! search.
NSAI (Standards) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The NSAI (National Standards Authority of Ireland) database provides full access to all Irish (I.S.), all European (EN) and all International (ISO) Standards. The NSAI database can be accessed on campus as well as from offsite.
To search for standards, go to Collections tab. This way you will be able to search within the content available to LIT.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. Extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
TUS Library has also access to 250 eBooks in the following collections: Business, Management, Hospitality and Tourism, Computer Science, Energy, Finance, Forensics, Media Technology

What is a database?

A database is a collection of online journal articles. TUS Library subscribes to a number of databases across a variety of subject areas. Through the databases, you can access articles, eBooks, proceedings and other research material on your topic.

What are the library databases and which one should I use?

What are the library databases and which one should I use? By NEIU Libraries

How should I search in a database?

How should I search in a database? By NEIU Libraries

Key Journals for Engineering

EW is a technical journal and the content and style require readers to have formal training in electronics. The editorial of Electronics World covers the full range of electronic industry activities including technology, systems, components, development tools, test, software and instrumentation.

Construction is the official magazine of the Construction Industry Federation, covering news, topical issues, member activities, economic trends, new products and developments covering all sectors of the industry. As the most widely circulated building magazine in Ireland, Construction informs key decision makers on the issues affecting the industry.

Car Mechanics magazine is packed with essential advice on maintaining and repairing popular makes and models. It's an invaluable motoring resource that appeals to both the DIY car enthusiast at home and the more experienced motor trade professional.

Established in 2003, JJDS Publications t/a Fleet Publications is the largest publisher of Transport orientated magazines in Ireland. Among its monthly and quarterly titles include Fleet Transport, Fleet Car, Fleet Van & Utility, Fleet Bus & Coach, Fleet Trailer & Body Builder, Fleet Maritime and Green Fleet Management. The company is based in Claremorris, County Mayo.

Elektor is a monthly magazine about all aspects of electronics. The English language edition of Elektor was launched in 1975 and is read worldwide. Elektor publishes a vast range of electronic projects, background articles and designs aimed at engineers, enthusiasts, students and professionals. To help readers build featured projects, Elektor also offer PCBs of many of their designs, as well as kits and modules.

Computer Music Journal is published quarterly with an annual sound and video anthology containing curated music. For four decades, it has been the leading publication about computer music, concentrating fully on digital sound technology and all musical applications of computers.

Building Engineer is the Journal of the Chartered Association of Building Engineers and has its roots in the publication ‘The Parthenon’ which was first published in 1926. Building Engineer is widely respected throughout the industry and renowned for its relevant technical content.

The journal of the Chartered Institution of Civil Engineering Surveyors is published 10 times a year for ICES members and subscribers. CES features articles on land surveying, GIS, GPS, construction law, project management, education and training, health and safety, and many more topics affecting the profession today. CES also features regular news items, regional events listings, book reviews and the latest recruitment positions.

Built Environment magazine (bE) features policies, products, services in the Irish market. Written by professionals for professionals, bE centers on ideas, practicality, sustainability of implementation. Innovative and proven solutions that promote energy efficient and environmentally sound technologies in Ireland, legal and financial models, public and private sectors initiatives, project case studies.

What is a peer-reviewed journal?

Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include original research articles written by researchers and experts in a particular academic discipline, providing a forum for the production and critique of knowledge. These journals are also known as scholarly or academic journals. (ACRL)

When searching on Discover! you can limit search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals only. Read more about limiters on Discover!

Peer Review in Three Minutes

Peer Review in Three Minutes by NC State Univarsity Libraries

Checking if the library has access to a journal

What is Discover!

Discover! is a service that simultaneously searches across multiple library databases using a single search. Find books, eBooks, journals, open access content and more. You can use keywords to search the single search box or use the Advanced Search option for a more focused search.

Engineering: Journals & Databases