Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: Books & eBooks

Welcome to your subject guide for Engineering.

Useful shelf marks

Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Engineering include the following:

  • Automobile Electronics - 629.2549
  • Building - 690
  • Building Services - 696
  • Civil Engineering - 624
  • Computerised Process Control - 629.895
  • Construction Management - 658.924
  • Contract Law - 346.02
  • Digital Communications - 621.382
  • Electrical Circuits - 621.3192
  • Electrical Installation - 621.31924
  • Electronics - 621.381
  • Fleet Management and Logistics - 658.7
  • Manufacturing Processes - 670
  • Mechanical Engineering - 621.8
  • Motor Vehicle Engines - 629.25
  • Property Valuation - 333.33
  • Quantity Surveying - 692.5
  • Renewable Energy - 333.794
  • Sound Recording - 621.3893
  • Structural Mechanics - 624.17

How do I find book on a particular topic?

To find books and other items in the Library, search the Library Catalogue

  • Just type in one or two words that describe your topic
  • Do not type in your essay title - just pick out the important words (keywords) and use those

If your search retrieves too many results, look at the Refine your search options on the left of the screen to narrow your results.

You can apply multiple limits if you wish to get very specific results - select and apply each one in turn.

Search Library Catalogue

   Search Library Catalogue

 

Searching for print books

Finding eBooks

TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBook are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Dawsonera and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.

Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.

Searching for eBooks using Discover!

Search Discover!

Recommended Books for Engineering

Basic Electronics for Scientists and Engineers

Ideal for a one-semester course, this concise textbook covers basic electronics for undergraduate students in science and engineering. Beginning with the basics of general circuit laws and resistor circuits to ease students into the subject, the textbook then covers a wide range of topics, from passive circuits through to semiconductor-based analog circuits and basic digital circuits. Using a balance of thorough analysis and insight, readers are shown how to work with electronic circuits and apply the techniques they have learnt. The textbook's structure makes it useful as a self-study introduction to the subject. All mathematics is kept to a suitable level, and there are several exercises throughout the book.

A Handbook of Writing for Engineers

This practical guide for engineers, whether students or senior managers, is an aid to developing a readable and lucid style in which to express technical knowledge. The text contains worked examples of different types of communication, advising on choice of words, the structuring and presentation of information and using material common to a range of technical disciplines.

Fundamentals of Mechanical Engineering

The Complete Solution To The Teaching and Study of NVQ Engineering' Fundamentals of Mechanical Engineering is the second in an exciting new series of books from Longman. They provide an in-depth treatment of all the underpinning knowledge and understanding required by students working towards the NVQ Engineering Manufacture (Foundation) Level 2 award. The series has been designed to accompany the three Longman NVQ Engineering workbooks, written by David Salmon and Chris Shelton, which cover the mandatory, mechanical option and electrical option units. Together these books provide a complete scheme for the teaching and study of NVQ Engineering.

Newnes electronics engineer's pocket book Keith Brindley, Joe Carr

Newnes Electronics Engineer's Pocket Book is a unique reference source - concise but comprehensive, and designed to be an essential tool for a wide range of engineers and electronics enthusiasts. This is a book written to be used, not to gather dust on a shelf, so unlike most reference books it is designed for the workshop and lab.

This compendium includes: component data, IC pin-outs, tables, formulae, principles of circuit design, circuit diagrams and a substantial glossary of terms. The second edition includes expanded material on circuit design covering amplifiers, bridge circuits, filters and lasers.

Sustainable practices in the built environment

Sustainability is a key issue and its impact on the construction industry, as one of the major users of the Earth's resources, is starting to take hold. This book deals with sustainability as it affects the construction industry, looking at the techniques and issues which designers, engineers, planners and construction managers will have to deal with in their day-to-day activities. It covers methods of analysis such as environmental impact assessment and cost-benefit analysis as well as topics on design and energy regulation and conservation. The book is an important introduction to the subject for senior undergraduate and postgraduate students. Given the importance and novelty of the subject, professionals in the construction industry will also find the book valuable.

Basic Engineering Mathematics

John Bird's approach to mathematics, based on numerous worked examples and interactive problems, is ideal for vocational students who require an entry-level textbook. Theory is kept to a minimum, with the emphasis firmly placed on problem-solving skills, making this a thoroughly practical introduction to the basic mathematics engineering that students need to master.

The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest