Library Guides: Animation Guide: Journals & Databases

What is an academic journal?

A Journal/Periodical/Serial: any publication published regularly (includes magazines/newspapers/newsletters).

A scholarly or academic journal: periodical containing research articles which are peer-reviewed and aimed at researchers.

Peer reviewed: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

E-Journals

LSAD Library has many journals that are available electronically, these are a fantastic source of information as they have a back catalogue of the journals as well as the most up to date editions. They have a 'search within journal' facility which allows you to search a topic within a certain journal. You can search for a journal within 'publication finder' on the main library website page https://library.lit.ie/

Google Books

Search Discover!

What's a database?

A library database is a collection of resources containing either full text documents, abstracts or chapters in books. Some databases cover a broad range of subjects, while others are specific to different subjects.

The databases are accessible to all TUS students and staff 24/7. You can access a wide range of online resources (such as eBooks, eJournals and databases) through TUS library Discover! search at library.lit.ie. All you need is the Internet access, device and your TUS username and password.

What are the library databases and which one should I use?

What are the library databases and which one should I use? By NEIU Libraries

How should I search in a database?

How should I search in a database? By NEIU Libraries

Databases useful for Animation

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Collection of eBooks This link opens in a new window
Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window

LinkedIn Learning

Linkedin Learning
As a student/staff member of TUS you have unlimited access to LinkedIn Learning, an on-demand library of high-quality instructional videos covering a vast range of software, business and creative skills. With more than 5,000 courses taught by industry experts—and more added every week—LinkedIn Learning is designed for all levels of learners, and it’s available whenever you’re ready to learn.

In order to use LinkedIn Learning, you will need an TUS email address. To create your account:

Browse to https://www.linkedin.com/learning/activate
Enter your TUS email address and click submit.
An email will be sent to your TUS email address. Follow the instructions in the email to verify your account.

Animation Journals

LSAD has a fantastic array of print journals for your perusal. Journals are on the wooden display shelves at the end of the library. Older journals are kept in alphabetically arranged boxes at the back of the library.

Journal of Graphic Novel
Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics covers all aspects of the graphic novel, comic strip and comic book focusing primarily, but not exclusively, on the twentieth and the twenty-first centuries. The emphasis is on the production and consumption of comics in their cultural, institutional and creative contexts.
Sight and Sound
Sight & Sound is a British monthly film magazine published by the British Film Institute
Millennium film journal
Since its inception in the 1970s, the Millennium Film Journal has documented the multiple transformations of the cinematic in the hands of artists, giving a voice to a community that tended toward marginality. Our single commitment is to the moving image as an art form, not a product, and we continue to maintain the idealist – if aggressively naive – position that artworks and products are separate and distinct species, even if some works are both.
Juxtapoz
Juxtapoz Art & Culture Magazine is a magazine created in 1994 by a group of artists and art collectors including Robert Williams, Fausto Vitello, C.R. Stecyk III, Greg Escalante, and Eric Swenson to both help define and celebrate urban alternative and underground contemporary art.

Online Animation Journals

To access these simply type the title into library website under 'publication Finder' Basic Search: Discover! Service for TUS and follow the links

Animation Magazine: Covers all aspects of the animation industry. Full online access 1989 to present

Con A de animacion: Spanish/English. Publication presents research in the field of animation, including art and history. Full online access 2011 to present

Journal of Graphic Comics and Novels: Covers all aspects of the graphic novel, comic strip and comic book, with the emphasis on comics in their cultural, institutional and creative contexts. Full access from 2010 to present

European Comic Art: Devoted to the study of European-language graphic novels, comic strips, comic books and caricature. Full online access from 2008 to present (with a 12 month delay on present)

International Journal of Comic Art: Full access from 2005-2010 only