Library Guides: Social Sciences: Journals & Databases

Key Databases for Social Sciences

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from Animal science, Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Ethnic and multicultural studies, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Physics, Psychology, Science and technology, Women’s studies and more.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work. Contents includes: full text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982.
Subject coverage includes art, agriculture, applied science, business, current events, education, general science, humanities, law, library sciences, social sciences, technology, and many other fields.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. Extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
TUS Library has also access to 250 eBooks in the following collections: Business, Management, Hospitality and Tourism, Computer Science, Energy, Finance, Forensics, Media Technology
WestlawIE This link opens in a new window
Westlaw IE is Ireland’s leading supplier of quality legal information. Instant access to Irish reported and unreported case law, legislation, journals and legal news.
WestlawUK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw UK is providing a wealth of leading UK, EU, US and International content, combined with a highly sophisticated online platform, it delivers a fast, precise and intuitive research experience. Westlaw UK is uniquely tailored to cater for the legal profession’s requirement for outstanding information and knowledge management.

What's a database?

A library database is a collection of resources containing either full text documents, abstracts, citations, or chapters in books. Some databases cover a broad range of subjects, while others are specific to different subjects. The databases are accessible to all TUS students and staff 24/7. Off campus access is also available by clicking on the link http://library.lit.ie/find/databases/ and entering your account number and password.

What are the library databases and which one should I use?

What are the library databases and which one should I use? By NEIU Libraries

How should I search in a library database?

How should I search in a database? By NEIU Libraries

Journals for Social Sciences

The readership is legal academics, lawyers and law students; the NGO sector including community development workers and practitioners; the public service sector; members of government and government departments and other social policy commentators

IJASS aims to publish papers from across the social sciences and related applied areas, including social work, social policy, community development, education, criminology, youth work, psychology,sociology, family studies, social care, early education and related areas.

The Journal of Social Care provides a forum for managers, practitioners and students (undergraduate and postgraduate) of social care to share, through publication, their original research, practice reflections, literature and book reviews.

Social Sciences is an international, open access journal with rapid peer-review, which publishes works from a wide range of fields, including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, political science, psychology, social policy, social work, sociology and so on. Social Sciences is published monthly online by MDPI.

What is a peer-reviewed journal?

Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include original research articles written by researchers and experts in a particular academic discipline, providing a forum for the production and critique of knowledge. These journals are also known as scholarly or academic journals. (ACRL)

When searching on Discover! you can limit search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals only. Read more about limiters on Discover!

Peer Review in Three Minutes

Peer Review in Three Minutes by NC State Univarsity Libraries

Checking if the library has access to a journal

What is Discover!

Discover! is a service that simultaneously searches across multiple library databases using a single search. Find books, eBooks, journals, open access content and more. You can use keywords to search the single search box or use the Advanced Search option for a more focused search.

Social Sciences: Journals & Databases