Library Guides: Graphic Design Guide: Journals & Databases

What is an academic journal?

A Journal/Periodical/Serial: any publication published regularly (includes magazines/newspapers/newsletters).

A scholarly or academic journal: periodical containing research articles which are peer-reviewed and aimed at researchers.

Peer reviewed: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

E-Journals

LSAD Library has many journals that are available electronically, these are a fantastic source of information as they have a back catalogue of the journals as well as the most up to date editions. They have a 'search within journal' facility which allows you to search a topic within a certain journal. You can search for a journal within 'publication finder' on the main library website page https://library.lit.ie/

Google Books

Search Discover!

Databases useful for Graphic Design and Visual Communication

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work. Contents includes: full text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982.
Subject coverage includes art, agriculture, applied science, business, current events, education, general science, humanities, law, library sciences, social sciences, technology, and many other fields.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from Animal science, Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Ethnic and multicultural studies, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Physics, Psychology, Science and technology, Women’s studies and more.
Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Art, Design and Architecture Collection is a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes:
- Collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies.
- the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. Extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
TUS Library has also access to 250 eBooks in the following collections: Business, Management, Hospitality and Tourism, Computer Science, Energy, Finance, Forensics, Media Technology
Academic Collection of eBooks This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that students and scholars will have access to information relevant to their research needs.

Offering more than 170,000 e-books, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier, Ashgate Publishing, Taylor & Francis, Sage Publications and John Wiley & Sons.

Graphic Design Guide: Journals & Databases

Graphic Design and Visual Communications Journals

Journal of graphic novels and comics

Eye : The International Review Of Graphic Design

Blueprint

IDN magazine

Creative Review

What is an academic journal?

E-Journals

Google Books

Search Discover!

Databases useful for Graphic Design and Visual Communication