Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Games Design & Development include the following:
To find books and other items in the Library, search the Library Catalogue.
If your search retrieves too many results, look at the Refine your search options on the left of the screen to narrow your results.
You can apply multiple limits if you wish to get very specific results - select and apply each one in turn.
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBook are available on different platforms: EBSCO, EBook Central and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
Computers and Games for Mental Health and Well-Being by
Found on doab - Directory of Open Access Books. This open access book offers a cross-sectoral reference for both managers and scientists interested in climate-smart forestry, focusing on mountain regions. It provides a comprehensive analysis on forest issues, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. This book includes structured summaries of each chapter. Funded by the EU’s Horizon 2020 programme, CLIMO has brought together scientists and experts in continental and regional focus assessments through a cross-sectoral approach, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. CLIMO has provided scientific analysis on issues including criteria and indicators, growth dynamics, management prescriptions, long-term perspectives, monitoring technologies, economic impacts, and governance tools.
Simulation and Gaming by
Found on doab - Directory of Open Access Books. This open access book offers a cross-sectoral reference for both managers and scientists interested in climate-smart forestry, focusing on mountain regions. It provides a comprehensive analysis on forest issues, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. This book includes structured summaries of each chapter. Funded by the EU’s Horizon 2020 programme, CLIMO has brought together scientists and experts in continental and regional focus assessments through a cross-sectoral approach, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. CLIMO has provided scientific analysis on issues including criteria and indicators, growth dynamics, management prescriptions, long-term perspectives, monitoring technologies, economic impacts, and governance tools.
The Role of Gamification in Software Development Lifecycle by
Found on doab - Directory of Open Access Books. This open access book offers a cross-sectoral reference for both managers and scientists interested in climate-smart forestry, focusing on mountain regions. It provides a comprehensive analysis on forest issues, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. This book includes structured summaries of each chapter. Funded by the EU’s Horizon 2020 programme, CLIMO has brought together scientists and experts in continental and regional focus assessments through a cross-sectoral approach, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. CLIMO has provided scientific analysis on issues including criteria and indicators, growth dynamics, management prescriptions, long-term perspectives, monitoring technologies, economic impacts, and governance tools.
Game Production Studies by
Found on doab - Directory of Open Access Books. This open access book offers a cross-sectoral reference for both managers and scientists interested in climate-smart forestry, focusing on mountain regions. It provides a comprehensive analysis on forest issues, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. This book includes structured summaries of each chapter. Funded by the EU’s Horizon 2020 programme, CLIMO has brought together scientists and experts in continental and regional focus assessments through a cross-sectoral approach, facilitating the implementation of climate objectives. CLIMO has provided scientific analysis on issues including criteria and indicators, growth dynamics, management prescriptions, long-term perspectives, monitoring technologies, economic impacts, and governance tools.
The definitive guide to more effective and personally fulfilling game development with Agile Methods--revamped to reflect ten more years of experience and improvements Game development is in crisis--facing bloated budgets, impossible schedules, unmanageable complexity, and death-march overtime.
This accessible textbook gives students the tools they need to analyze games using strategies borrowed from textual analysis. As the field of game studies grows, videogame writing is evolving from the mere evaluation of gameplay, graphics, sound, and replayablity, to more reflective writing that manages to convey the complexity of a game and the way it is played in a cultural context.
This book provides and overview the video game designer career path, including the salaries, job prospects, and viewpoints of industry leaders.
You might think that working in the video game industry is all fun and, well...games. Jobs like combat designer and animator sound pretty exciting. But do you know what it really takes to do one of these jobs? Do you have the skills? The knowledge? Are you ready to work hard? Game designers create the images, sounds, and action that gamers enjoy. Find out if you can handle a job in this fast-paced industry.
The Art of Titanfall 2 is the ultimate guide to the development of Respawn Entertainment's fast-paced, visually stunning first-person shooter. Featuring an exclusive array of highly stylised concept art, sketches, 3D renders, maquette modelling, and commentary from key Respawn Entertainment team members, this is a must-have for any fan of the dynamic and destructive world of Titanfall.
This book offers a look into the video game industry. Industry professionals provide insight into game programming, art, animation, design, production, quality assurance, audio and business professions. From hiring and firing conventions, attitudes about gender disparity, goals for work-life balance, and a span of legal, psychological, and communal intellectual property protection mechanisms, the book is ideal for anyone interested in games as a global industry, a site of cultural study, or a prospective career path.
Behind-the-scenes look at how today's blockbuster video games are made. Significant Zero provides clear-eyed criticism of the industry's addiction to violence and explains how the role of the narrative designer who is crucial for expanding the scope of video games into more immersive and emotional experiences.
Jason Schreier takes readers behind the scenes of video game development. Explores the artistic challenges, technical impossibilities, marketplace demands, and Donkey Kong-sized monkey wrenches thrown into the works by corporate.
A theoretical and practical guide to integrating human values into the conception and design of digital games. In this book, Mary Flanagan and Helen Nissenbaum present Values at Play, a theoretical and practical framework for identifying socially recognized moral and political values in digital games.
With its hands-on approach and the affordability of the required hardware, this book is an excellent flexible resource for both the novice and the expert in 3D user input device development. Researchers and practitioners will gain a much deeper understanding about user input devices and user interfaces. Game developers and software designers will find new techniques to improve their products by adding intuitive user interaction mechanisms to their games and applications.
Unity in Action teaches you how to write and deploy games. You'll master the Unity toolset from the ground up, adding the skills you need to go from application coder to game developer.
This is the practical, start-to-finish rigging primer you've been waiting for! Enhance your skillset by learning how to efficiently rig characters using techniques applicable to both games and cinematics. Keep up with all the action with behind-the-scenes images and code scripts Refine your rigging skills with tutorials and project files available on the companion website.
This book explores how to use an understanding of psychology to be a better part of their gaming communities, to avoid being manipulated when they shop and play, and to get the most enjoyment out of playing games. With examples from the games themselves, Jamie Madigan offers a fuller understanding of the impact of games on our psychology and the influence of psychology on our games.
This book provides an introduction to Pixel Art, its utility, foundational elements, and concepts such as light and shadow. It offers tutorials on creating animations and serves as a functional guide for the most common methodology in 2D game development. Whether you are an artist, programmer, indie developer, or certified public accountant, after reading this book, you'll understand the steps necessary to create production-quality Pixel Art graphics.
This book explores the links between game design, surveillance, computation, and the emerging technologies that impact our everyday lives at home, at work, and with our family and friends. The book delves into the role of gamification in motivating us to use software and applications, alter our behaviors, and to collect, display, and contextualize personal data.
In this book you'll go step by step, using modern, free software tools such as Unity to create five games in the classic style, inspired by retro favorites like: Pong, Breakout, Space Invaders, Scramble, and Pac-Man. All the source code, art, and sound sources for the projects are available on the companion files. You'll discover the fun of making your own games, putting in your own color graphics, adjusting the scoring, coding the AI, and creating the sound effects.
Immerse yourself in the fundamentals of game design with this book, written by two highly experienced industry professionals to share their profound insights as well as give valuable advice on creating games across genres and development platforms. Practical Game Design covers the basics of game design one piece at a time. Starting with learning how to conceptualize a game idea and present it to the development team, you will gradually move on to devising a design plan for the whole project and adapting solutions from other games.
This book will guide you through the basic game development process, covering game development topics including graphics, sound, artificial intelligence, animation, game engines, Web-based games, etc. Real games will be created, and significant parts of a game engine will be built and made available for download. The companion DVD will contain example code, games, and color figures.
If you wish to create and publish fun iOS games using Swift, then this book is for you. You should be familiar with basic programming concepts. However, no prior game development or Apple ecosystem experience is required.
For beginners, Godot offers a friendly way to learn game development techniques, while for experienced developers it is a powerful, customizable tool that can bring your visions to life. This book consists of five projects that will help developers achieve a sound understanding of the engine when it comes to building games. Game development is complex and involves a wide spectrum of knowledge and skills. This book can help you build on your foundation level skills by showing you how to create a number of small-scale game projects.
Helping teachers take advantage of game design principles and intrinsic motivators to build more effective courses. Kevin Bell's Game On! presents dynamic case studies of gamer educators and game-derived techniques to help instructors creatively formulate their own teaching strategies. Bell explores how game design, pedagogy, and intrinsic motivators can level the playing field to produce rigorous learning environments that are as addictive to all participants as the latest apps and social media systems.
This book would be ideal for 3D artists and game designers who want to create amazing 3D game environments and leverage the power of Blender with Unreal Engine 4. A great place to start for beginner and intermediate developers. Aims to cover the basics/intermediates of level development and asset creation. Create a fully functioning game level of your own design!
At its core, UX is about understanding the gamer's brain: understanding human capabilities and limitations to anticipate how a game will be perceived, the emotions it will elicit, how players will interact with it, and how engaging the experience will be. This book is designed to equip readers of all levels, from student to professional, with cognitive science knowledge and user experience guidelines and methodologies. These insights will help readers identify the ingredients for successful and engaging video games, empowering them to develop their own unique game recipe more efficiently, while providing a better experience for their audience.
By the end of this book, you'll have gained comprehensive knowledge in game development with Unity 2018. Get creative with Unity's shaders and learn to build your own shaders with the new Shader Graph tool Create a text and image character dialog with the free Fungus Unity plugin. Explore new features integrated into Unity 2018, including TextMesh Pro and ProBuilder Master Unity audio, including ducking, reverbing, and matching pitch to animation speeds. Unity 2018 Cookbook is for you if you want to explore a wide range of Unity scripting and multimedia features and find ready-to-use solutions for many game features.
Up offers a pioneering empirical analysis of innovation and strategy in the video game industry to explain how it has evolved from a fringe activity to become a mainstream form of entertainment. Joost van Dreunen, analyzes how game makers, publishers, and platform holders have tackled strategic challenges to make the video game industry what it is today. He demonstrates that video game companies flourish when they bring the same level of creativity to business strategy that they bring to game design. Filled with case studies of companies such as Activision Blizzard, Apple, Electronic Arts, Epic Games, Microsoft, Nexon, Sony, Take-Two Interactive, Tencent, and Valve, this book forces us to rethink common misconceptions around the emergence of digital and mobile gaming.
Get to grips with programming techniques and game development using C++ libraries and Visual Studio 2019 Key Features Learn game development and C++ with a fun, example-driven approach Build clones of popular games such as Timberman, Zombie Survival Shooter, a co-op puzzle platformer, and Space Invaders Discover tips to expand your finished games by thinking critically, technically, and creatively. With this book, you'll get a fun introduction to game programming by building five fully playable games of increasing complexity.
Effective gamification is a combination of game design, game dynamics, user experience, and ROI-driving business implementations. This book explores the interplay between these disciplines and captures the core principles that contribute to a good gamification design. After reading this book, you'll have the knowledge and skills to enable the widespread adoption of good gamification and human-focused design in all types of industries.
This volume compiles papers from the Young Academics Workshop at the Clash of Realities conferences of 2017 and 2018. The 2017 workshop - Perceiving Video Games - explored the video game medium by focusing on perception and meaning-making processes. The 2018 workshop - Reframing the Violence and Video Games Debate - transcended misleading claims that link video games and violent behavior by offering a range of fresh topical perspectives. From BA students to postdoctoral researchers, the young academics of this anthology stem from a spectrum of backgrounds, including game studies, game design, and phenomenology. This volume also features an entry by renowned psychologist Christopher J. Ferguson.
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest