Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Forensic Science include the following:
To find books and other items in the Library, search the Library Catalogue.
If your search retrieves too many results, look at the Refine your search options on the left of the screen to narrow your results.
You can apply multiple limits if you wish to get very specific results - select and apply each one in turn.
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBook are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Dawsonera and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
In addition to auto theft this book also covers vehicles involved in other forms of crime. It examines various procedures and dynamics of evidence as it might be left in any crime scene. It includes the examination of burned vehicles, vehicle identification, vehicles recovered from water, vehicle tracking, detection of trace and chemical evidence, and the analysis of automotive fluids.
This book is aimed at students with a modest mathematical background. It introduces key statistical techniques used in the evaluation of forensic evidence and uses real-life examples from forensic science literature and case-work to illustrate statistical concepts and methods used to examine data obtained during laboratory experiments. Covers topics such as: scientific observation, Bayesian approaches, DNA, fibres and glass.
Designed to provide practicing scientists with extensive knowledge and reference material to support scientific testimony in the courtroom. This volume focuses on DNA analysis, fiber analysis, drug identification, firearm examination, the microscopic examination of physical evidence, and the characterization of biological stains.
An up-to-date treatment of DNA in forensic science, which contains an introduction to the underlying science, and lays the foundation for a discussion of the technology and methods used. It also addresses current applications of DNA techniques. Topics covered include structure, function and variation in DNA, experimental techniques, hypervariant and intermediate probes, DNA analysis in paternity testing and legal perspective.
This volume represents an approach to the analysis of glass and paint as they occur as trace evidence in forensic cases. This book is divided into two sections: one referring to paint and one referring to glass. Each section covers an introduction to the composition of these materials and the analytical approach to obtaining information from these types of exhibits, together with an interpretation of that evidence in the context of the forensic case.
This book presents a new approach to the study of applications of chemistry to forensic science. This textbook covers the major topics in forensic chemistry including: illicit drugs, fibers, fire and explosive residues, soils, glass and paints, the chemistry of fingerprint recovery on porous surfaces, the chemistry of firearms analysis, as well as two chapters on the key tools of forensic science, microscopy and chemometrics.
Describes the application of gas chromatography to various aspects of forensic chemistry. Following an introduction to the basic theory of chromatographic separations, the text discusses specific issues, such as drug analysis, fires and explosives, alcohol and toxicology.
This book provides an introduction to the modern crime laboratory for those with no scientific background. Defines physical evidence. Discusses common items of physical evidence encountered at crime scenes and pays particular attention to the meaning and role of probability in interpreting the evidential significance of scientifically evaluated evidence.
This book discusses the appropriate techniques for fire scene investigation and the chemical analysis of fire debris. Specific topics of interest include the following: an interpretation of GC-MS data from ignitable liquid residues, fire analysis as it relates to chemistry, physics, and fluid dynamics, an assessment of common fire investigation errors, the presentation of landmark legal cases, and how to deal with clients, expert witnesses, lawyers and the courts.
This book provides a broad, multidisciplinary approach. Topics discussed include: the physics and chemistry of explosives, the detection of hidden explosives, and the effect of explosions on structures and persons. Aircraft sabotage investigations, explosive scene investigations, the role of forensic scientists in the analysis of explosives and their residues, and forensic pathology as it relates to explosives is also discussed.
This book serves as a reference book for crime scene technicians, laboratory forensic scientists and microscopists. Topics covered include: examining damaged textiles, infrared microspectroscopy and thin layer chomatography and colour analysis. Also discussed is the role of quality assurance, and processes from collecting and preserving evidence at crime scenes through to laboratory analysis. Coverage of both natural and man-made fibres is also included.
This books aims to educate students in forensic science and computer security about digital evidence and computer crime. This book explains how computers and networks can be involved in crimes and how they can be used as a source of evidence. Students will also be introduced to deductive criminal profiling and understanding criminal motivations.
This textbook focuses on the theory and practice of crime scene investigation and includes many informative casework examples and photographs. The book also aims to provide students with a better understanding of the strengths and limitations of forensic science in its application to crime scene investigations.
This book covers topics such as: infra-red exams, the use of computers in document examination, innovative chart making techniques, computer printer technologies, facsimiles, techniques for the detection of digitally manipulated documents, and ASTM standards for reporting conclusions.
This book is aimed towards criminal justice students. The book provides an introduction to the forensic realm by bridging the theoretical world of social criminology with the applied world of the criminal justice system. There is a focus on navigating casework in forensic contexts by case-working criminologists, rather than broad social theory.
This is a comprehensive reference source on the theory, techniques, and applications of the various forensic sciences. This book approaches the topic form the point of view of forensic investigators. Topics discussed include: arson, homicide, computer crime, autopsies, ballistics, chromatography, crime scene photography, fingerprint analysis, bomb and nuclear detection devices.
In addition to auto theft this book also covers vehicles involved in other forms of crime. It examines various procedures and dynamics of evidence as it might be left in any crime scene. It includes the examination of burned vehicles, vehicle identification, vehicles recovered from water, vehicle tracking, detection of trace and chemical evidence, and the analysis of automotive fluids.
In this practical guide, the relationship between incident response and digital forensics is explored and you will learn how to undertake each and balance them to meet the needs of an organisation in the event of an information security incident. best practice tips and real-life examples are included throughout.
This book charts the 30 year history of the sexual assault evidence kit and its role in the criminal justice system in Canada that re-victimizes many assault victims in their quest for medical treatment and justice.
This book discusses the problem of malpractice in the US publicly-funded crime labs from an administrative perspective. Includes examples of malpractice in these organizations on an individual and organizational level. The book explains how elements of the organizational environment and organizational behavior of the crime labs combine to create this organizational failure.
This book raises questions reliability of many forms of scientific evidence which were traditionally regarded as reliable and have been routinely admitted to prove guilt. The Congressionally commissioned report of the National Academy of Sciences documented the lack of scientific basis in many of these areas.
The content of this book is comprised of up-to-date and practical experiments and step-by-step instructions on how to perform DNA analysis, including pipetting, microscopy and hair analysis, presumptive testing of body fluids and human DNA typing. Modern DNA typing techniques are provided, reflecting real life, where not all institutions and crime labs can afford the same equipment and software. Real case studies are used throughout.
This book examines the ethical, political, and historical foundations of this rapidly growing field of forensic investigation, from the graves of the 'disappeared' in Latin America to genocide in Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia to post–Saddam Hussein Iraq. In the process, the book illustrates how forensic teams strive to balance the needs of war crimes tribunals, transitional governments, and the families of the missing in post-conflict nations.
This is report by the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) in the United States of America concerns the advancement of forensic science research since pervious 2009 and 2010 reports. The report examines the ways in which NIJ develops its forensic science research priorities and communicates those priorities as well as its findings to the scientific and forensic practitioner communities in order to determine the impact of NIJ forensic science research programs and how that impact can be enhanced.
A comprehensive reference source on the theory, techniques, and applications of the various forensic sciences.
This book presents research from across the globe in the study of forensic science, including integrating forensic genetics and geostatistics; forensic perspectives in human pigmentation genes; bloodstain investigations; forensic DNA typing; forensic anthropology study and the cell separation method as a solution for biological mixtures in forensic science.
This book explores the legal implications of forensic science. The book discusses the history of evidence in court, the 'CSI effect' in juries and various kinds of evidence (including DNA, fingerprints, handwriting, hair, bite marks, tool marks, firearms and bullets, fire and arson investigation, and bloodstain evidence). The strengths and limitations of each kind of evidence and case studies are also discussed.
This book provides practical assistance for the establishment or upgrading of forensic document examination capacities in two categories of service providers: (a) immigration and border control agencies and (b) forensic science laboratories. Several levels of infrastructure development ranging from basic to advanced capacity are covered. The focus is on the staff skill and educational requirements needed to perform forensic document examinations and to provide court testimony, intelligence alerts and training.
This book is a reference book for all areas of forensic medicine. Written for specialists and non-specialists alike, it will appeal to practicing forensic scientists, as well as lawyers, police officers, and forensic science students. It shows how forensic medicine has been used in specific cases enabling the reader to apply their knowledge in real life.
This book offers vocational guidance in the areas of science, criminal investigation and forensic sciences.
This book introduces the concept of forensic science and explains how it is used in the investigation of crime. It covers topics such as; the principles and processes of crime scene management, how forensic scientists work, and techniques used. Examples from forensic science cases in the UK, US, and other countries are also presented.
This book covers the development of the historical knowledge base of forensic science during its formative years in the 19th and early 20th centuries. This book offers a selection of period literature on a wide range of forensic science topics-including forensic chemistry, questioned document analysis, forensic photography, dactyloscopy, and the morgue-that add an historical perspective which is often missing from contemporary textbooks.
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest
