Fake News

Brittanica (2018) Fight the fake - fact checking tips from Brittanica. Available at: https://britannicalearn.com/resource/infographic-fight-the-fake-fact-checking-tips-from-britannica/attachment/master/ (Accessed: 23 April 2020).

Brown, D. (2014) How to choose your news. Available at: https://www.ted.com/talks/damon_brown_how_to_choose_your_news/transcript?language=en (Accessed: 27 April 2020). 

Cambridge Online Dictionary (2020) FactCheck. Available at: https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/fact-check  (Accessed: 23 April 2020). 

Cambridge Online Dictionary (2020) Fake news. Available at: https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/fake-news (Accessed: 23 April 2020).

Chartered Institute of Library & Information Professionals (CILIP) (2018) What is information literacy?.  Available at: https://www.cilip.org.uk/news/421972/What-is-information-literacy.htm (Accessed: 21 April 2020).

CommonSense Media (2017) 5 ways to spot fake news. Available at: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/videos/5-ways-to-spot-fake-news (Accessed: 23 April 2020).

International Federation of Library Associations & Institutions (IFLA) (2017) How to spot fake news. Available at: https://www.ifla.org/publications/node/11174 (Accessed: 21 April 2020).

Media Literacy Ireland (2019) Be media smart. Available at: https://www.bemediasmart.ie/ (Accessed: 21 April 2020).

NewseumEd (2020) Is this story share-worthy?.  Available at: https://newseumed.org/tools/lesson-plan/story-share-worthy (Accessed: 20 April 2020).

On the Media (2016) Breaking news comsumer handbook: fake news edition. Available at:  https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/otm/segments/breaking-news-consumer-handbook-fake-news-edition (Accessed: 23 April 2020).

Rappler.com (2017) What is fake news?. Available T: https://www.rappler.com/technology/social-media/189656-fake-news-explainer (Accessed: 20 April 2020).

Rubin, V., Chen, Y., and Conroy, N. (2015) Deception detection for news: three types of fakes, Proceedings of the Association for Information Science & Technology, 52 (1), pp.1-4.

Salgado, C. (2016) Lies in the social network. Available at: http://cristosalgado.com/ (Accessed: 24 April 2020).

Spencer, J. (2016) 5C's of critical consuming. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xf8mjbVRqao (Accessed: 20 April 2020).

The UNESCO Courier (2017) Fake news: sound bites on a burning topic. Available at: https://en.unesco.org/courier/july-september-2017/fake-news-sound-bites-burning-topic (Accessed: 23 April 2020).

This guide was created by Nora Hegarty, TUS Library: Midwest.