Electrical & Electronic Engineering: Books & eBooks

Brian Scaddan's Electrical Installation Work explains in detail how and why electrical installations are designed, installed and tested. You will be guided in a logical, topic by topic progression through all the areas required to complete the City and Guilds 2357 Diploma in Electro-technical Technology. Rather than following the order of the syllabus, this approach will make it easy to quickly find and learn all you need to know about individual topics and will make it an invaluable resource after you've completed your course. With a wealth of colour pictures, clear layout, and numerous diagrams and figures providing visual illustration, mastering difficult concepts will be a breeze. This new edition is closely mapped to the new City and Guilds 2357 Diploma and includes a mapping grid to its learning outcomes. It is also fully aligned to the 17th Edition Wiring Regulations.

Fundamental Electrical and Electronic Principles covers the essential principles that form the foundations for electrical and electronic engineering courses. The coverage of this new edition has been carefully brought in line with the core unit 'Electrical and Electronic Principles' of the 2007 BTEC National Engineering specification from Edexcel. As the book follows a logical topic progression rather than a particular syllabus, it is also suitable for other Level 3 students on vocational courses such as Vocational AS/A Level, City & Guilds courses and NVQs, as well as those taking foundation courses at pre-degree level including HNC/HND.Each chapter starts with learning outcomes tied to the syllabus. All theory is explained in detail and backed up with numerous worked examples. Students can test their understanding with end of chapter assignment questions for which answers are provided. The book also includes suggested practical assignments and handy summaries of equations. 

The aim of the Code of Practice for Electrical Safety Management is to provide good practice guidance to enable individuals and their organisations to have a level of knowledge and understanding to manage the risks associated with an electrical system. There are many technical publications that provide guidance on certain aspects of electrical safety but not in a way that provides a process for managing electrical safety.

Digital techniques are central to almost all modern telecommunications systems.The third edition of Digital Communications has retained both its comprehensive coverage and its balance between theory, applications and systems implementation. Its main aim is to develop the mathematical theory of signal processing and use this theory to describe modern digital communications. This text is geared towards students who already have a technical understanding of electrical engineering from their introductory years at university and who wish to focus on digital communications.It covers everything these students will need to know, including modern techniques. It is also suitable for professional engineers.

A programmable logic controllers (PLC) is a real-time system optimized for use in severe conditions such as high/low temperatures or an environment with excessive electrical noise. This control technology is designed to have multiple interfaces (I/Os) to connect and control multiple mechatronic devices such as sensors and actuators. Programmable Logic Controllers, Fifth Edition, continues to be a straight forward, easy-to-read book that presents the principles of PLCs while not tying itself to one vendor or another. Extensive examples and chapter ending problems utilize several popular PLCs currently on the market highlighting understanding of fundamentals that can be used no matter the specific technology. Ladder programming is highlighted throughout with detailed coverage of design characteristics, development of functional blocks, instruction lists, and structured text. Methods for fault diagnosis, testing and debugging are also discussed. This edition has been enhanced with new material on I/Os, logic, and protocols and networking. For the UK audience only: This book is fully aligned with BTEC Higher National requirements.

Newnes Electronics Engineer's Pocket Book is a unique reference source - concise but comprehensive, and designed to be an essential tool for a wide range of engineers and electronics enthusiasts.  This is a book written to be used, not to gather dust on a shelf, so unlike most reference books it is designed for the workshop and lab.  This compendium includes: component data, IC pin-outs, tables, formulae, principles of circuit design, circuit diagrams and a substantial glossary of terms. The second edition includes expanded material on circuit design covering amplifiers, bridge circuits, filters and lasers.  The editor of the second edition is the late Joe Carr, who was a leading US electronics author who had written numerous published books and magazine articles, including several titles with Newnes. This book was originally compiled by the leading electronics author Keith Brindley, incorporating the previous Newnes Pocket Books, Newnes Radio and Electronics Pocket Book and Newnes Electronics Pocket Book.