Skip to main content

Getting started with library search engine Discover!: Home

What is Discover!

Discover! is a powerful search engine provided by EBSCO that allows library researchers to discover material of all sorts through a single search box. With Discover! you can quickly find reliable books and articles to help you complete research projects and other classroom assignments.This guide will help you get started with Discover!

What is included in Discover!

Discover! contains listings for journals, books, eBooks, thesis, videos, newspaper articles, government documents, reports, conference papers and more.
LIT Library Discover! contains over 45,000 unique journal titles and more than 170,000 eBooks.

Keep in mind
Discover! search engine includes many resources, but not everything.
We would advise you to continue to search via subscribed databases and the classic library catalogue.

Access Discover! on / off-campus

Discover! is available from off-campus. To access full articles and other online content from off-campus locations, be sure to log in by clicking on the yellow banner at the top of your result screen.

How to Log in: To access full-text resources via Discover! you need your LIT username and password (your login to PC’s / Moodle in LIT)

When should I use Discover!

Discover! is good starting place when you are uncertain about which discipline-specific library database to use. Discover! can be very  helpful when you are beginning research on a subject that is new to you or you are investigating a multidisciplinary topic.

Advantages in using Discover!

  • Searching is fast, easy, and uses a familiar, Google-like, interface allowing researchers to use one search box to discover credible and reliable library content.
  • Select Full text online in the Refine your search panel on the left side of the screen­ and your results will be limited to items immediately available in full text online.
  • Search results can be also limited by content type, discipline,  library location, publication date, language and more.
  • Search results can include materials that are not part of the library collections, but may be requested through our Inter Library Loan service.
  • Citations in your search results can be viewed in commonly used citation format, emailed and printed.

Full Text eJournal and eBooks

In addition to searching the library content with Discover! we are also providing a Publication Finder where you can find eJournals and eBooks by title or ISSN/ISBN number and browse the content by discipline:

 

Search Discover!

Need Help?

The Library, Limerick Institute of Technology