Skip to main content

*Covid-19 - LIT library services information: Accessing databases & eJournals

 

Off-campus access to our electronic resources is available 24/7. Log on with your student number and password

What is a database?

A database is a collection of online journal articles. LIT Library subscribes to a number of databases across a variety of subject areas. Through the databases, you can access articles, eBooks, proceedings and other research material on your topic.

Don’t know where to start? Academic Search Ultimate the combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from Animal science, Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Ethnic and multicultural studies, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Physics, Psychology, Science and technology, Women’s studies and more.

 

What are the library databases

What are the library databases by Roland Williams Library

How should I search in a database?

What are the library databases by Roland Williams Library

LIT Library Databases

Online databases allow you to discover relevant journal articles by searching with keywords, title author etc.
You will find all LIT Library databases listed on this page, or you can select one from the dropdown menu below:

Search with Discover!

Discover! is a service that simultaneously searches across multiple library databases using a single search. Find books, eBooks, journals, open access content and more. You can use keywords to search the single search box or use the Advanced Search option for a more focused search.

 


Start Searching with Discover! here:

 


 

How to find articles

Checking if the library has access to a journal

What is a peer-reviewed journal?

Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include original research articles written by researchers and experts in a particular academic discipline, providing a forum for the production and critique of knowledge. These journals are also known as scholarly or academic journals. (ACRL)

When searching on Discover! you can limit search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals only. Read more about limiters on Discover!

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Peer Review in Three Minutes by NC State Univarsity Libraries

The Library, Limerick Institute of Technology