Skip to main content

Information Literacy Tutorial: I want to find an article

Learn what academic literature is, where to find it and how to use it correctly.

Journal articles

You will come across articles from scholarly journals fairly early on in your study. Research results and new insights are often first published in scholarly journals making them an important part in scholarly communication.

There are scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. Journals play a far bigger role than books. These days, scholarly journals are usually published in electronic form, as eJournals.

Although LIT Library is currently still subscribing to some printed journals, it also offers access to thousands of eJournals. Printed volumes are not for loan, but can be consulted in the library. eJournals are accessible online for students and staff of LIT.

There are various ways of finding articles published in these eJournals. Discover! gives access to all articles, but direct access through so-called full-text databases and indirect access through so-called bibliographic databases is also possible. It is not very easy to distinguish between the two so both are usually referred to as electronic databases.

An overview of all electronic databases LIT has a license for can be found on the Library portal.

These databases are usually geared towards a specific discipline and can therefore have an advantage over Discover! which is an interdisciplinary search engine.

Types of bibliographic databases

Bibliographic databases: these only contain bibliographic references, sometimes with an abstract or a short description of the contents. Some databases provide a link to the full text of the publication in other databases (e.g. in e-journals).

Full-text databases: these contain not only the bibliographic reference but also the full text of the publication, which in many cases is fully searchable.

Citation databases: these contain not only the bibliographic reference but also a link to the citations (= other publications that mention the publication).

The Library, Limerick Institute of Technology