Library Guides: Ceramics: Journals & Databases

What is an academic journal?

A Journal/Periodical/Serial: any publication published regularly (includes magazines/newspapers/newsletters).

A scholarly or academic journal: periodical containing research articles which are peer-reviewed and aimed at researchers.

Peer reviewed: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

E-Journals

LSAD Library has many journals that are available electronically, these are a fantastic source of information as they have a back catalogue of the journals as well as the most up to date editions. They have a 'search within journal' facility which allows you to search a topic within a certain journal. You can search for a journal within 'publication finder' on the main library website page https://library.lit.ie/

Search Discover!

What's a database?

A library database is a collection of resources containing either full text documents, abstracts or chapters in books. Some databases cover a broad range of subjects, while others are specific to different subjects.

The databases are accessible to all TUS students and staff 24/7. You can access a wide range of online resources (such as eBooks, eJournals and databases) through TUS library Discover! search at library.lit.ie. All you need is the Internet access, device and your TUS username and password.

What are the library databases and which one should I use?

What are the library databases and which one should I use? By NEIU Libraries

How should I search in a database?

How should I search in a database? By NEIU Libraries

Online Resources

Available 24/7 wherever you are.
You can access a wide range of online resources (such as eBooks, eJournals and databases) through LIT library Discover! search at library.lit.ie.
All you need is Internet access, device and your LIT username and password.

Databases useful for Ceramics

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. Extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
TUS Library has also access to 250 eBooks in the following collections: Business, Management, Hospitality and Tourism, Computer Science, Energy, Finance, Forensics, Media Technology
Academic Collection of eBooks This link opens in a new window
cFile (on campus access) This link opens in a new window
A Daily Publication for Contemporary Ceramic Art + Design.
CFile is a global community of cutting-edge educators, ceramics creatives, critics, curators, collectors, dealers, and brilliant young techies.
It covers eBooks, exhibition catalogues, conference reports, artist biographies and a physical journal in the area of ceramics and pottery.

Ceramic Journals

LSAD has a fantastic array of print journals for your perusal.All of the current year ceramic journals are on the wooden display shelves at the end of the library. Older journals are kept in alphabetically arranged boxes at the back of the library. Some examples of our journals related to ceramics are :