Skip to main content

Library Newsletter: Spring 2020

Coronavirus Update

Socially distant (but still social!) greetings from LIT Library, which is currently very closed. 

As librarians, our mission is to help students and staff in any way we can. Physically closing the library was a difficult decision, as we know how important this space is to many of you. But ultimately, it's in line with our goal to help. This is a decisive time for how the pandemic as a whole is going to play out, and the fewer people who get sick right now, the easier it'll be for everyone long term.

Luckily, libraries have become increasingly digital in recent years, and we're in a good position to provide you with services remotely. For up to date information, you can check out our Covid-19 LibGuide, linked below. Included in this guide are instructions on accessing digital material and a list of librarians who, like you, are currently stuck indoors doing their work from home. Channels like email, phone, and the library website's "Ask A Librarian" chat feature remain open to you. Rest assured, we're still happy to assist you any way we can, and there's plenty of material you can access from home!

Best of luck continuing your studies through this difficult time. If you need help, don't hesitate to approach us. Digitally, that is. Please do not literally approach us.

https://lit.libguides.com/covid-19

Discover!

Our librarians are always happy to assist you in finding the materials you need. But with a heavier emphasis on working from home, you might want to take the search into your own hands. Luckily, the library's search engine, 'Discover', is easy to use.

You can get started by visiting the library website, which has the easy-to-remember URL "library.lit.ie". The Discover search engine should be the first thing you see. You can use this exactly the same way you would use a website like Google, the difference being that Discover only searches through library resources such as eBooks and online journals. Just enter the keywords you want to search for. A useful note is to put key phrases longer than one word into quotation marks. Searching for library science might run the risk of showing you everything about libraries and everything about science - "library science" should give much more specific results.

From there, you'll see the most relevant results listed in the centre of the page (marked in blue). The search engine will automatically try to present you with the best options first. If you want to customise your search, there are quick options listed on the left of the screen (marked in green), and you can set up more specific parameters by clicking the link at the top that says "Advanced Search" (marked in red). Probably the most important option worth checking is "Full Text". Sometimes Discover will try to point you toward an article that the library might not have access to. By ticking "Full Text", you'll ensure that you'll only see results you can read in full.

If you still can't find what you're looking for, it's worth noting that Discover doesn't search through all the databases the library has access to. Accessing these databases is also quite simple.

After clicking on 'Databases' in the library website, you'll see the databases listed under seven subject headings. If you need something outside of these subjects, you can search through the section labeled All. There are also several multidisciplinary databases, such as Academic Collection of eBooks, Academic Search Ultimate, Emerald Insight, OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition, and ScienceDirect. As always, you can always turn to a librarian for help, by emailing library@lit.ie or calling 061 293265.

And that's it! Books in the library's catalogue should be listed with their shelf number, along with whether or not they're currently available for loan. Articles and other digital results should redirect you to where you can read and/or download the material. Happy researching!

Women's Day

SnG postponed

While Seachtain na Gaeilge is a uniquely Irish event, Ireland is still a member of the wider global community. Seachtain na Gaeilge was scheduled to take place in LIT around St. Patrick's Day, as is traditional. But due to the coronavirus, LIT's committee for the event has decided to postpone the institute's celebrations for the moment. 

The good news is that Seachtain na Gaeilge really is when you make it! The committee intends to revisit the festivities once the time is right. Until then, stay safe, and stay indoors. After all - níl aon tinteán mar do thinteán féin.

LIT Library Twitter feed

Public Libraries

We aren't the only libraries who have gone digital! If you're a member of Ireland's public libraries, now is an excellent time to peruse their online offerings. A library membership can allow you to check out eBooks, eMagazines, Audiobooks, and more. Definitely worth investigating if you want something to break up Netflix binges.

DocHub

Jerald Cavanagh, Institute Librarian/Project Leader, LIT (pictured far left) and Padraig Kirby, Research Development and Innovation Project Officer, LIT (pictured far right) with Sergiy Shevtsov (pictured centre left) and Oleksandr Kulyk (pictured centre right) from Dnipropetrovsk National University (DNU), Dnipro, Ukraine, attending the DocHub Conference on Transferable Skills, Dnipro, Ukraine, January 27th-28th 2020.

LIT Library Staff attend the DocHub Conference on Transferable skills in Ukraine.


Jerald Cavanagh, Institute Librarian/Project Leader, and Padraig Kirby, Research Development and Innovation Project Officer/Project Coordinator, attended the DocHub Conference on Transferable Skills which was held in Dnipro, Ukraine on January 27th and 28th 2020.

 

The aim of the conference was to disseminate information about the DocHub project, particularly the essential transferable skills training in information literacy and academic writing the framework of the project seeks to deliver. Areas include information and research skills, electronic databases and open access, web search strategies and tactics, and getting published, with referencing citation and avoiding plagiarism also covered. Jerald Cavanagh and Padraig Kirby presented at the conference on their experiences of the DocHub project and the transferable skills training they delivered during the project's implementation.

 

The DocHub project is led by Vilnius University, Vilnius, Lithuania, and aims to foster transferrable skills in doctoral students in the Ukraine. Through designing and piloting transferrable skills such as library and information literacy skills, academic writing, presentation skills, teaching skills, and other specialty courses, the intention is to develop and implement innovative doctoral training and quality standards in Ukrainian universities.

 

If you'd like to learn more about the DocHub project, you can contact either Jerald (jerald.cavanagh@lit.ie) or Padraig (padraig.Kirby@lit.ie) here at the library.

INNO3D+

LIT President Professor Vincent Cunnane (pictured centre right) and Institute Librarian/Project Leader Jerald Cavanagh (pictured front centre) with ERASMUS+ participants from Universities from Greece, Portugal, Spain, Slovakia and Romania, participating in the INNO3D training event in Limerick from January 19th-23rd 2020. 

 

LIT Library hosts major EU Library project training on 3D Printing

 

LIT Library was proud to host a training event for ERASMUS + Strategic Partnerships for Higher Education-funded project 3D printing support service for innovative citizens (or INNO3D), taking place in Limerick from January 19th-23rd 2020.

The INNO3D project, which is led by LIT Library, aims to develop tools to train librarians in the skills of 3D printing so that they can then pass those skills on to library users. The intention is that librarians trained through the INNO3D project will be able to offer a dedicated service which can instruct all library users in the use of 3D printing. The project will enhance the quality and relevance of knowledge and skills of librarians in the area of 3D printing. 


The INNO3D  training event
 was attended by representatives from universities from Romania, Greece, Slovakia, Portugal, and Spain. The opening address was delivered by Professor Vincent Cunnane, President of Limerick Institute of Technology, on Monday the 20th of January at LIT's Clare Street Campus.

3D printing is an example of the type of resource that will transform today’s libraries into cutting-edge collaborative spaces and learning hubs.  The INNO3D Project is a highly original landmark project, the first of its kind to be funded under the ERASMUS+ programme. 

Libraries have always been communal spaces that have been set up to share and give access to learning and enrichment resources. The introduction of new technologies such as 3D printing is part of the mission to teach 21st-century skills.

If you'd like to learn more about the INNO3D project, you can contact either Jerald (jerald.cavanagh@lit.ie) or Padraig (padraig.Kirby@lit.ie) here at the library, or you can visit the project's website at the following link: https://www.inno3d.eu/

The Library, Limerick Institute of Technology