Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News: Current Issue - Autumn 2022

All the latest news from TUS Library Midwest

Welcome Everyone!

The Library Team would like to extend a warm welcome to all new and returning students and staff!

We hope you all had a fantastic summer and are settling into the autumn semester well. We know you have a lot of information coming your way at the moment so we'll just give you a quick summary of our main services as either an introductory 'crash course' for new students, or to help refresh your memory after the break. It might be a good idea to bookmark some of these links for future reference:

 

Library Card: GOOD NEWS! Your student or staff card is your library card so you are already a member of TUS Library! There is no need to sign up - just remember to have your card with you when you visit.

Opening Hours: The Library opens at 9 am and our late night opening hours have resumed in LSAD, Moylish & Thurles! Click here to see the opening hours for all libraries.

Borrowing and Renewing: Undergraduate students can borrow 7 items at a time from the Main Collection. Postgrads can borrow 9, and for staff it's 12. We also have Short Loan (3 day) and Reserve Loan (2 hour) rules on more popular items. If you wish to borrow or renew an item, you can either come to the Circulation Desk and our staff will be happy to help you, or you can use the RFID Self Service machines. You must have your student or staff card with you to use the Self Service machines. For more information on borrowing click here.

Returning Items: There are 3 ways to return a library book. You can (1) drop it in the returns bin outside the library entrance, (2) return it using the Self Service machines, or (3) hand it to a member of staff at the main desk.

Study Rooms: There are 7 private group study rooms in Moylish Library. They must be reserved in advance and bookings can only be made by registered TUS students, using a valid student email. They can be booked for 2 hours at a time. Click here to book a study room. This video by Brian in Moylish Library demonstrates the online booking process.

Library Catalogue: This is where you can search our print collection. There are computers in the Library that you can use to search the catalogue and find the location of a book. You can also search the catalogue when you are off-campus, using the library website.

Discover Search: Use this search function to begin searching our online collections. We will have weekly tutorials this semester to help you find the resources you need using Discover Search.

Referencing Help: Write it Right is the name of our guide to all you need to know about Harvard Referencing. You will find it in PDF format here. We have weekly tutorials on referencing too, and you are always welcome to ask us any questions you may have about referencing and we'll be happy to help.

Library & Research Skills Tutorials: We offer weekly tutorials to help you use the library resources effectively. You can sign up for classes on topics such as Harvard Referencing, Getting Started with your Final Year Project (FYP), Using Online Databases & eBooks, and more! Keep an eye on the library website, email and social media for the weekly schedules.

TUS Midwest Library Implements RFID Technology for the New Academic Year

TUS Library is proud to announce the launch of RFID technology across all Midwest campus libraries. RFID offers many benefits for students and staff including faster, easier checkout and check-in of library materials. The main aim for today’s libraries in adopting RFID is the need to enhance library customer services, increase efficiency and reduce cost. 

According to Jerald Cavanagh "the rollout of RFID across TUS Libraries will improve the speed and accuracy of library circulation and shelving functions thereby greatly enhancing library services to students and staff".

RFID provides a highly efficient automated returns and materials handling system thereby freeing TUS library staff to provide key information and research skills support services to its users. The introduction of RFID across TUS Libraries will also help to protect the library’s collections, thereby ensuring that the TUS community gets the most value out of the library.

TUS Midwest Library staff put the finishing touches to the new RFID system which will commence in the new semester. Pictured left to right are Brian O' Donnell, Systems Librarian, TUS Midwest Library, Sean de Bhulbh, Assistant Librarian, TUS Midwest Library, Jerald Cavanagh, University Librarian Midwest and Project Leader Erasmus+, TUS Midwest Library, Monika Bukowska, Assistant Librarian, TUS Midwest Library and Nadene Ryan, Library Assistant, TUS Midwest Library.

TUS Midwest Library staff putting the finishing touches to the new RFID system. Pictured left to right are Brian O' Donnell, Sean de Bhulbh, Jerald Cavanagh, Monika Bukowska, and Nadene Ryan.

New Subject Guides

Our Subject Guides will help you to find resources for your area of study. Here we highlight two of our newest guides, for students of Games Design and Development and those studying Early Childhood Education and Care.

Games Design and Development

Our new Games Design and Development subject guide will point you towards all the resources you will need as you embark on this subject. Learn how to find print books in the library and how to search for ebooks and journal articles. There is information about databases, finding theses, as well as online tutorials and other useful resources for games design. 

Created by: Aisling Slevin, Thurles Campus Library


Early Childhood Education & Care

The subject guide on Early Childhood Education & Care provides information on a range of library print and electronic resources, including new books and e-books. It also lists links to Irish and international websites for this area. A great starting point for students! 

Created by: Nora Hegarty, Moylish Campus Library


You can browse our full list of study skills and subject guides by clicking here.

Online Library Workshops

Our weekly online training sessions have started. Learn about library databases and online resources, get referencing help, find out how to use Mendeley Reference Manager, and more. Click here to see the schedule and to book a place.

New Books on Interior Design at LSAD Library

Open Access Books

Open access textbooks are academic texts published with an open copyright licence. This means they can be shared and freely accessed online. See the links below for some examples of the kinds of books available to you. 

  1. OpenStax is part of Rice University in Houston, Texas, whose mission is to improve educational access and learning for everyone  
  2. The Open Course Collection is a curated selection of course materials developed by educators in British Columbia that can be accessed by students and teachers worldwide. 
  3. The Open Textbook Library is based at the University of Minnesota. 
  4. OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Here you will find links to a list of textbooks by subject. 

Recent Library Displays

Heritage Week

GAA Books.. UP Limerick!

Climate change awareness to mark the Future Limerick festival

Welcoming Mature Students

Bike Week 2022

Welcome Back Years 2 - 4

Latest Issues of our Print Journals - available to read in Moylish Library

Fleet Transport

Practical Electronics

Self Build

Sound On Sound

The Caterer

The Economist

Marketing.ie

We're on Instagram

You can also find us on Instagram @tus.librarymw

New Books in Thurles Library

Staff Book Review: Fiction

 

Lessons in Chemistry – Bonnie Garmus

A coLessons in Chemistrymic novel that deals with some serious themes, Lessons in Chemistry is set in the patriarchal society of 1950s America and introduces us to Elizabeth Zott, an unlikely heroine with modernist views and feminist attitudes, who against all odds, resists this society at every twist and turn. 

A female chemist at a time when female chemists were unheard of, Elizabeth is a victim of sexism in her workplace so much so that she is forced to leave and must take up a role as a TV cookery show host to make ends meet. The descriptions of the show are hilarious, with Elizabeth refusing to conform to any of the conventions and insisting on bringing her knowledge of science into all the recipes.

Despite being depicted as a larger-than-life character, who endures a series of humorous ups and downs, Elizabeth’s struggles are genuine, as is her belief in the power of education and equality to change the world order.

This book is deliberately cheesy but with a spirit, warmth and charm that draws the reader in. Elizabeth and her supporting cast of oddball characters will make you laugh out loud at times. I especially loved the dog!  

Reference:  Garmus, B. (2022) Lessons in chemistry. London: Transworld.  

-Nora Hegarty, Moylish Library

The Library, Technological University of the Shannon: Midwest